The Long List of Hugo Awards, 1992

(MagiCon [Orlando, Florida; September 3–7, 1992])

1991 || 1992 || 1993

Best Novel

Winner:Barrayar by Lois McMaster Bujold [Analog Jul,Aug,Sep,Oct 1991; Baen, 1991]
2Bone Dance by Emma Bull [Ace, 1991]
3All the Weyrs of Pern by Anne McCaffrey [Ballantine Del Rey, 1991]
4The Summer Queen by Joan D. Vinge [Warner Questar, 1991]
5Xenocide by Orson Scott Card [Tor, 1991]
6Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick [Asimov's mid-Dec 1990,Jan 1991; Morrow, 1991]

Best Novella

Winner:"Beggars in Spain" by Nancy Kress [Asimov's Apr 1991; Axolotl, 1991]
2"The Gallery of His Dreams" by Kristine Kathryn Rusch [Pulphouse/Axolotl, 1991; Asimov's Sep 1991]
3"Jack" by Connie Willis [Asimov's Oct 1991]
4"Griffin's Egg" by Michael Swanwick [Legend, 1991; St. Martin's Press, 1991]
5"And Wild for to Hold" by Nancy Kress [Asimov's Jul 1991]

Best Novelette

Winner:"Gold" by Isaac Asimov [Analog Sep 1991]
2"Dispatches from the Revolution" by Pat Cadigan [Asimov's Jul 1991]
3"Miracle" by Connie Willis [Asimov's Dec 1991]
4"Fin de Cyclé" by Howard Waldrop [Night of the Cooters: More Neat Stories, 1991; Asimov's mid-Dec 1991]
5"Understand" by Ted Chiang [Asimov's Aug 1991]

Best Short Story

Winner:"A Walk in the Sun" by Geoffrey A. Landis [Asimov's Oct 1991]
2"One Perfect Morning, with Jackals" by Mike Resnick [Asimov's Mar 1991]
3"In the Late Cretaceous" by Connie Willis [Asimov's mid-Dec 1991]
4"Winter Solstice" by Mike Resnick [F&SF Oct/Nov 1991]
5"Press Ann" by Terry Bisson [Asimov's Aug 1991]
6"Buffalo" by John Kessel [Fires of the Past, 1991; F&SF Jan 1991]
7"Dog's Life" by Martha Soukup [Amazing Mar 1991]

Best Non-Fiction Book

Winner:The World of Charles Addams by Charles Addams [Knopf, 1991]
2Science-Fiction: The Early Years by Everett F. Bleiler [Kent State University Press, 1991]
3The Science-Fantasy Publishers: A Critical & Bibliographic History (3rd ed) by Jack L. Chalker and Mark Owings [Mirage Press, 1991]
4The Bakery Men Don't See Cookbook by Jeanne Gomoll [SF3, 1991]
5Clive Barker's Shadows in Eden by Stephen Jones [Underwood-Miller, 1991]
Pish, Posh, Said Hieronymus Bosch by Nancy Willard, Leo Dillon, and Diane Dillon

Best Dramatic Presentation

Winner:Terminator 2: Judgment Day (1991) [Carolco/Lightstorm/Pacific Western] Written by James Cameron and William Wisher, Jr.; Directed by James Cameron
2Beauty and the Beast (1991) [Silver Screen/Disney] Screenplay by Linda Woolverton; Story by Roger Allers, Kelly Asbury, Brenda Chapman, Jeanne-Marie Leprince de Beaumont, Tom Ellery, Kevin Harkey, Robert Lence, Burny Mattinson, Brian Pimental, Joe Ranft, Chris Sanders, and Bruce Woodside; Directed by Gary Trousdale and Kirk Wise
3Star Trek VI: The Undiscovered Country (1991) [Paramount] Screenplay by Nicholas Meyer & Denny Martin Flinn; Story by Leonard Nimoy and Lawrence Konner & Mark Rosenthal; Directed by Nicholas Meyer
4The Addams Family (1991) [Orion Pictures/Paramount] Written by Caroline Thompson & Larry Wilson; Directed by Barry Sonnenfeld; based on characters created by Charles Addams
5The Rocketeer (1991) [Gordon/Silver Screen/Touchstone/Disney] Screenplay by Danny Bilson & Paul De Meo; Story by Danny Bilson & Paul De Meo & William Dear; Directed by Joe Johnston; based on the graphic novel by Dave Stevens

Best Professional Editor

Winner:Gardner Dozois
2Kristine Kathryn Rusch
3Ellen Datlow
4Stanley Schmidt
5Edward L. Ferman

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Michael Whelan
2Don Maitz
3Bob Eggleton
4David A. Cherry
5Thomas Canty

Best Original Art Work

Winner:Cover (The Summer Queen by Joan D. Vinge) by Michael Whelan
2Cover (Asimov's Jan 1991) [Stations of the Tide by Michael Swanwick] by Bob Eggleton [Asimov's Jan 1991]
3Cover (The White Mists of Power by Kristine Kathryn Rusch) by Thomas Canty [Roc, 1991]
4Cover (Heavy Time by C. J. Cherryh) by Don Maitz [Warner Questar, 1991]
5Cover (Lunar Descent by Allen Steele) by Bob Eggleton [Ace, 1991]
Withdrawn - Nomination Declined:
Cover (All the Weyrs of Pern by Anne McCaffrey) by Michael Whelan [Ballantine Del Rey, 1991]
Cover (The Initiate Brother by Sean Russell) by Michael Whelan

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
2Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Andrew I. Porter
3Interzone ed. by David Pringle
4Pulphouse, The Hardback Magazine ed. by Kristine Kathryn Rusch and Dean Wesley Smith
5The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, and Gordon Van Gelder

Best Fanzine

Winner:Mimosa ed. by Dick Lynch and Nicki Lynch
2Lan's Lantern ed. by George "Lan" Laskowski
3File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
4FOSFAX ed. by Timothy Lane and Janice Moore
5Trap Door ed. by Robert Lichtman

Best Fan Writer

Winner:Dave Langford
2Harry Warner, Jr.
3Mike Glyer
4Avedon Carol
5Evelyn C. Leeper
6No Award
7Andrew P. Hooper

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Brad W. Foster
2Teddy Harvia
3Peggy Ranson
4Stu Shiffman
5Diana Harlan Stein

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:Ted Chiang
2Laura Resnick (1st year of eligibility)
3Barbara Delaplace (1st year of eligibility)
4Michelle Sagara (aka: Michelle West) (1st year of eligibility)
5Greer Ilene Gilman (2nd year of eligibility)

1991 || 1992 || 1993

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.