The Long List of Hugo Awards, 1993

(ConFrancisco [San Francisco, California; September 2–6, 1993])

1992 || 1993 || 1994

Best Novel

Winners(tie):A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge [Tor, 1992]
 Doomsday Book by Connie Willis [Bantam Spectra, 1992]
3Red Mars by Kim Stanley Robinson [HarperCollins UK, 1992; Bantam Spectra, 1993]
4China Mountain Zhang by Maureen F. McHugh [Tor, 1992]
5Steel Beach by John Varley [Ace/Putnam, 1992]

Best Novella

Winner:"Barnacle Bill the Spacer" by Lucius Shepard [Asimov's Jul 1992]
2"Stopping at Slowyear" by Frederik Pohl [Pulphouse/Axolotl, 1992; Bantam Spectra, 1992]
3"Protection" by Maureen F. McHugh [Asimov's Apr 1992]
4"Uh-Oh City" by Jonathan Carroll [F&SF Jun 1992]
5"The Territory" by Bradley Denton [F&SF Jul 1992]

Best Novelette

Winner:"The Nutcracker Coup" by Janet Kagan [Asimov's Dec 1992]
2"Danny Goes to Mars" by Pamela Sargent [Asimov's Oct 1992]
3"True Faces" by Pat Cadigan [F&SF Apr 1992]
4"Suppose They Gave a Peace..." by Susan Shwartz [Alternate Presidents (Tor), 1992]
5"In the Stone House" by Barry N. Malzberg [Alternate Kennedys (Tor), 1992]

Best Short Story

Winner:"Even the Queen" by Connie Willis [Asimov's Apr 1992]
2"The Mountain to Mohammed" by Nancy Kress [Asimov's Apr 1992]
3"The Lotus and the Spear" by Mike Resnick [Asimov's Aug 1992]
4"The Arbitrary Placement of Walls" by Martha Soukup [Asimov's Apr 1992]
5"The Winterberry" by Nicholas A. DiChario [Alternate Kennedys (Tor), 1992]

Best Non-Fiction Book

Winner:A Wealth of Fable by Harry Warner, Jr. [SCIFI Press, 1992]
2Let's Hear It for the Deaf Man by David Langford [NESFA Press, 1992]
3Virgil Finlay's Women of the Ages by Virgil Finlay [Underwood-Miller, 1992]
4The Costumemaker's Art by Thom Boswell [Lark, 1992]
5Enterprising Women: Television Fandom and the Creation of Popular Myth by Camille Bacon-Smith [University of Pennsylvania Press, 1992]
6Monad Number Two by Damon Knight [Pulphouse, 1992]

Best Dramatic Presentation

Winner:Star Trek: The Next Generation - "The Inner Light" (1992) [Paramount] Teleplay by Morgan Gendel and Peter Allan Fields; Story by Morgan Gendel; Directed by Peter Lauritson
2Aladdin (1992) [Disney] Screenplay by Ron Clements, Ted Elliott, John Musker, and Terry Rossio; Story by [many]; Directed by Ron Clements and John Musker
3Dracula (1992) (alt: Bram Stoker's Dracula) [American Zoetrope/Columbia] Screenplay by James V. Hart; Directed by Francis Ford Coppola; based on the novel by Bram Stoker
4Batman Returns (1992) [PolyGram/Warner Brothers] Screenplay by Daniel Waters; Story by Daniel Waters and Sam Hamm; Directed by Tim Burton; based on characters created by Bob Kane
5Alien 3 (1992) [20th Century Fox/Brandywine] Screenplay by David Giler & Walter Hill and Larry Ferguson; Story by Vincent Ward; Directed by David Fincher; based on characters created by Dan O'Bannon & Ronald Shusett

Best Professional Editor

Winner:Gardner Dozois
2Kristine Kathryn Rusch
3Ellen Datlow
4Beth Meacham
5Stanley Schmidt

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Don Maitz
2David A. Cherry
3Thomas Canty
3Bob Eggleton
5James Gurney
Withdrawn - Nomination Declined:
Michael Whelan

Best Original Art Work

Winner:Dinotopia by James Gurney [Turner, 1992]
2Cover (Aristoi by Walter Jon Williams) by Jim Burns [Tor, 1992]
3Cover (Asimov's Nov 1992) Asimov portrait by Michael Whelan [Asimov's Nov 1992]
4Cover (F&SF Oct/Nov 1992) [Bridges by Charles de Lint] by Ron Walotsky [F&SF Oct/Nov 1992]
5Cover (Illusion by P. Volsky) by Michael Whelan [Bantam Spectra, 1992]
Cover (A Fire Upon the Deep by Vernor Vinge) by Boris Vallejo and Dorian Vallejo [Tor, 1992]

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Andrew I. Porter
2Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
3Interzone ed. by David Pringle
4The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, Ariel Haméon, and Tad Dembinski
5Pulphouse, The Hardback Magazine ed. by Dean Wesley Smith and Jonathan E. Bond

Best Fanzine

Winner:Mimosa ed. by Dick Lynch and Nicki Lynch
2File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
3Lan's Lantern ed. by George "Lan" Laskowski
4Stet ed. by Leah Zeldes Smith and Dick Smith
5FOSFAX ed. by Timothy Lane and Janice Moore

Best Fan Writer

Winner:Dave Langford
2Harry Warner, Jr.
3Mike Glyer
4Evelyn C. Leeper
5Andrew P. Hooper

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Peggy Ranson
2Teddy Harvia
3Stu Shiffman
4Diana Harlan Stein
5Linda Michaels
6Merle Insinga

Special Awards

 Takumi Shibano - for building bridges between cultures and nations to advance science fiction and fantasy

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:Laura Resnick (2nd year of eligibility)
2Nicholas A. DiChario (2nd year of eligibility)
3Barbara Delaplace (2nd year of eligibility)
4Michelle Sagara (aka: Michelle West) (2nd year of eligibility)
5Holly Lisle
6Carrie Richerson (1st year of eligibility)
Poppy Z. Brite
Maureen F. McHugh

1992 || 1993 || 1994

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.