The Long List of Hugo Awards, 2002

(ConJose [San Jose, California; August 29 – September 2, 2002])

2001 || 2002 || 2003

Best Novel

Winner:American Gods by Neil Gaiman [Morrow, 2001]
2The Curse of Chalion by Lois McMaster Bujold [Eos, 2001]
3Passage by Connie Willis [Bantam, 2001]
4Perdido Street Station by China Miéville [Macmillan, 2000; Del Rey, 2001; Fleuve noir, 2003]
5The Chronoliths by Robert Charles Wilson [Tor, 2001]
6Cosmonaut Keep by Ken MacLeod [Orbit, 2000; Tor, 2001]

Best Novella

Winner:"Fast Times at Fairmont High" by Vernor Vinge [The Collected Stories of Vernor Vinge (Tor), 2001]
2"Stealing Alabama" by Allen M. Steele [Asimov's Jan 2001]
3"May Be Some Time" by Brenda W. Clough [Analog Apr 2001]
4"The Chief Designer" by Andy Duncan [Asimov's Jun 2001]
5"The Diamond Pit" by Jack Dann [Jubilee, 2001; F&SF Jun 2001]

Best Novelette

Winner:"Hell Is the Absence of God" by Ted Chiang [Starlight #3 (Tor), 2001]
2"The Days Between" by Allen Steele [Asimov's Mar 2001]
3"Undone" by James Patrick Kelly [Asimov's Jun 2001]
4"Lobsters" by Charles Stross [Asimov's Jun 2001]
5"The Return of Spring" by Shane Tourtellotte [Analog Nov 2001]

Best Short Story

Winner:"The Dog Said Bow-Wow" by Michael Swanwick [Asimov's Oct/Nov 2001]
2"The Bones of the Earth" by Ursula K. Le Guin [Tales from Earthsea (Harcourt), 2001]
3"Old MacDonald Had a Farm" by Mike Resnick [Asimov's Sep 2001]
4"The Ghost Pit" by Stephen Baxter [Asimov's Jul 2001]
5"Spaceships" by Michael A. Burstein [Analog Jun 2001]

Best Related Book

Winner:The Art of Chesley Bonestell by Ron Miller and Frederick C. Durant III with Melvin H. Schuetz [Paper Tiger, 2001]
2Being Gardner Dozois by Michael Swanwick [Old Earth Books, 2001]
3J. R. R. Tolkien: Author of the Century by Tom Shippey [HarperCollins, 2000; Houghton Mifflin, 2001]
4Meditations on Middle-Earth by Karen Haber [St. Martin's Press, 2001]
5The Art of Richard Powers by Richard Powers and Jane Frank [Paper Tiger, 2001]
6I Have This Nifty Idea...Now What Do I Do with It? by Mike Resnick [Wildside Press, 2001]
L. Ron Hubbard Presents Writers of the Future, Volume XVII by Algis Budrys

Best Dramatic Presentation

Winner:The Lord of the Rings: The Fellowship of the Ring (2001) [New Line Cinema/The Saul Zaentz Company/WingNut Films] Screenplay by Fran Walsh & Philipa Boyens & Peter Jackson; Directed by Peter Jackson; based on the book The Fellowship of the Ring by J. R. R. Tolkien; Peter Jackson, Barrie M. Osborne, and Tim Sanders, Producers; Bob Weinstein and Harvey Weinstein, Executive Producers
2Shrek (2001) [DreamWorks SKG/Pacific Data Images] Written by Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio and Joe Stillman and Roger S. H. Schulman; Story by Edmund Fong and Ken Harsha; Directed by Andrew Adamson and Vicky Jenson; Additional dialog by Cody Cameron & Chris Miller & Conrad Vernon; Jeffrey Katzenberg, Aron Warner, and John H. Williams, Producers; Penney Finkelman Cox and Sandra Rabins, Executive Producers
3Harry Potter and the Sorcerer's Stone (2001) [1492 Pictures/Heyday Films/Warner Brothers] Screenplay by Steven Kloves; Directed by Chris Columbus; David Heyman, Producer; Michael Barthan, Chris Columbus, Duncan Henderson, and Mark Radcliff, Executive Producers
4Monsters, Inc. (2001) [Pixar Animation/Disney] Screenplay by Dan Gerson & Andrew Stanton; Story by Jill Culton & Peter Docter & Ralph Eggleston & Jeff Pidgeon; Directed by Pete Docter, David Silverman, and Lee Unkrich; Additional screenplay material by Robert L. Baird & Rhett Reese & Jonathan Roberts; Darla K. Anderson, Producer; John Lasseter and Andrew Stanton, Executive Producers
5Buffy the Vampire Slayer - "Once More, with Feeling" (2001) [Fox Television Studios/Mutant Enemy, Inc.] Written and directed by Joss Whedon; Joss Whedon and Marti Noxon, Executive Producers

Best Professional Editor

Winner:Ellen Datlow
2Gardner Dozois
3Stanley Schmidt
4Patrick Nielsen Hayden
5Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Michael Whelan
2Bob Eggleton
3Frank Kelly Freas
4Donato Giancola
5Jim Burns

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown
2Interzone ed. by David Pringle
3The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, and Kevin J. Maroney
4Speculations ed. by Susan Fry and Kent Brewster
5Absolute Magnitude ed. by Warren Lapine
Withdrawn - Nomination Declined:
Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Warren Lapine

Best Fanzine

Winner:Ansible ed. by Dave Langford
2File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
3Mimosa ed. by Rich Lynch and Nicki Lynch
4Plokta ed. by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott
5Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III

Best Fan Writer

Winner:Dave Langford
2Mike Glyer
3Steven H Silver
4Bob Devney
5John L. Flynn
6Jeff Berkwits

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Teddy Harvia
2Brad Foster
3Sue Mason
4Frank Wu
5Sheryl Birkhead

Best Web Site

Winner:Locus Online ( by Mark R. Kelly
2Scifi.Com ( by Craig Engler
3SF Site ( by Rodger Turner
4Strange Horizons ( by Mary Anne Mohanraj
5Tangent Online ( by Dave Truesdale and Tobias S. Buckell

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:Jo Walton (2nd year of eligibility)
2Alexander C. Irvine (2nd year of eligibility)
3Ken Wharton (1st year of eligibility)
4Wen Spencer (1st year of eligibility)
5Tobias S. Buckell (2nd year of eligibility)

2001 || 2002 || 2003

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.