The Long List of Hugo Awards, 2004

(Noreascon 4 [Boston, Massachusetts; September 2–6, 2004])

2003 || 2004 || 2005

Best Novel

Winner:Paladin of Souls by Lois McMaster Bujold [Eos, 2003]
2Ilium by Dan Simmons [Subterranean, 2003; Eos, 2003; Gollancz, 2003]
3Singularity Sky by Charles Stross [Ace, 2003]
4Blind Lake by Robert Charles Wilson [Tor, 2003]
5Humans by Robert J. Sawyer [Tor, 2003]

Best Novella

Winner:"The Cookie Monster" by Vernor Vinge [Analog Oct 2003]
2"The Empress of Mars" by Kage Baker [Asimov's Jul 2003]
3"Just Like the Ones We Used to Know" by Connie Willis [Asimov's Dec 2003]
4"The Green Leopard Plague" by Walter Jon Williams [Asimov's Oct/Nov 2003]
5"Walk in Silence" by Catherine Asaro [Analog Apr 2003]

Best Novelette

Winner:"Legions in Time" by Michael Swanwick [Asimov's Apr 2003]
2"The Empire of Ice Cream" by Jeffrey Ford [Sci Fiction, 2003-02-26]
3"Nightfall" by Charles Stross [Asimov's Apr 2003]
4"Into the Gardens of Sweet Night" by Jay Lake [Writers of the Future XIX ed. by Algis Budrys (Galaxy Press), 2003]
5"Bernardo's House" by James Patrick Kelly [Asimov's Jun 2003]
6"Hexagons" by Robert Reed [Asimov's Jul 2003]

Best Short Story

Winner:"A Study in Emerald" by Neil Gaiman [Shadows Over Baker Street ed. by Michael Reaves & John Pelan (Del Rey), 2003]
2"Paying It Forward" by Michael A. Burstein [Analog Sep 2003]
3"Robots Don't Cry" by Mike Resnick [Asimov's Jul 2003]
4"Four Short Novels" by Joe Haldeman [F&SF Oct/Nov 2003]
5"The Tale of the Golden Eagle" by David D. Levine [F&SF Jun 2003]

Best Related Book

Winner:The Chesley Awards for Science Fiction and Fantasy Art: A Retrospective by John Grant, Elizabeth L. Humphrey, and Pamela D. Scoville [Artist's and Photographer's Press Ltd., 2003]
2The Thackery T. Lambshead Pocket Guide to Eccentric & Discredited Diseases by Jeff VanderMeer and Mark Roberts [Night Shade Books, 2003]
3Spectrum 10: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art by Cathy Fenner and Arnie Fenner [Underwood Books, 2003]
4Dreamer of Dune: The Biography of Frank Herbert by Brian Herbert [Tor, 2003]
5Scores: Reviews 1993–2003 by John Clute [Beccon Publications, 2003]
6Master Storyteller: An Illustrated Tour of the Fiction of L. Ron Hubbard by William J. Widder [Galaxy Press, 2003]
The Return of the Black Widowers by Isaac Asimov and Charles Ardai

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner:The Lord of the Rings: The Return of the King (2003) [New Line Cinema] Screenplay by Fran Walsh & Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson; Directed by Peter Jackson; based on the book The Return of the King by J. R. R. Tolkien
2Pirates of the Caribbean: The Curse of the Black Pearl (2003) [Disney] Screenplay by Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio; Screen Story by Ted Elliott & Terry Rossio and Stuart Beattie and Jay Wolpert; Directed by Gore Verbinski
3X2: X-Men United (2003) [20th Century Fox/Marvel] Screenplay by Michael Dougherty & Dan Harris and David Hayter; Story by Zak Penn and David Hayter & Bryan Singer; Directed by Bryan Singer
4Finding Nemo (2003) [Pixar Animation/Disney] Screenplay by Andrew Stanton & Bob Peterson & David Reynolds; Story by Andrew Stanton; Directed by Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich
528 Days Later... (2003) [DNA Films/Fox Searchlight] Written by Alex Garland; Directed by Danny Boyle

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner:"Gollum's Acceptance Speech at the 2003 MTV Movie Awards" (2003) [Wingnut Films/New Line] Written and directed by Fran Walsh & Philippa Boyens & Peter Jackson
2Firefly - "The Message" (2003) [Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox] Written by Joss Whedon & Tim Minear; Directed by Tim Minear
3Buffy the Vampire Slayer - "Chosen" (2003) [Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox] Written and directed by Joss Whedon
4Firefly - "Heart of Gold" (2003) [Mutant Enemy Inc./20th Century Fox] Written by Brett Matthews; Directed by Thomas J. Wright
5Smallville - "Rosetta" (2003) [Tollin/Robbins Productions/Warner Brothers] Written by Al Gough & Miles Millar; Directed by James Marshall

Best Professional Editor

Winner:Gardner Dozois
2Ellen Datlow
3David G. Hartwell
4Stanley Schmidt
5Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Bob Eggleton
2Donato Giancola
3Frank Kelly Freas
4Frank Frazetta
5Jim Burns

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown, Jennifer A. Hall, and Kirsten Gong-Wong
2The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, and Kevin J. Maroney
3Interzone ed. by David Pringle
4Ansible ed. by Dave Langford
5The Third Alternative ed. by Andy Cox
Science Fiction Chronicle ed. by Warren Lapine

Best Fanzine

Winner:Emerald City ed. by Cheryl Morgan
2Mimosa ed. by Rich Lynch and Nicki Lynch
3Plokta ed. by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott
4File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
5Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III

Best Fan Writer

Winner:Dave Langford
2Cheryl Morgan
3Bob Devney
4John L. Flynn
5Jeff Berkwits

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Frank Wu
2Sue Mason
3Teddy Harvia
4Brad Foster
5Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:Jay Lake (2nd year of eligibility)
2David D. Levine (2nd year of eligibility)
3Karin Lowachee (2nd year of eligibility)
4Tim Pratt (2nd year of eligibility)
5Chris Moriarty (1st year of eligibility)

2003 || 2004 || 2005

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.