The Long List of Hugo Awards, 2007

(Nippon 2007 [Yokohama, Japan; August 30 – September 3, 2007])

2006 || 2007 || 2008

Best Novel

Winner:Rainbows End by Vernor Vinge [Tor, 2006]
2Glasshouse by Charles Stross [Ace, 2006; Orbit, 2006]
3His Majesty's Dragon by Naomi Novik [Voyager as Temeraire, 2006; Del Rey, 2006]
4Eifelheim by Michael F. Flynn [Tor, 2006]
5Blindsight by Peter Watts [Tor, 2006]

Best Novella

Winner:"A Billion Eves" by Robert Reed [Asimov's Oct/Nov 2006]
2"Lord Weary's Empire" by Michael Swanwick [Asimov's Dec 2006]
3Julian: A Christmas Story by Robert Charles Wilson [PS Publishing, 2006]
4"The Walls of the Universe" by Paul Melko [Asimov's Apr/May 2006]
5"Inclination" by William Shunn [Asimov's Apr/May 2006]

Best Novelette

Winner:"The Djinn's Wife" by Ian McDonald [Asimov's Jul 2006]
2"Pol Pot's Beautiful Daughter (Fantasy)" by Geoff Ryman [F&SF Oct/Nov 2006]
3"Dawn, and Sunset, and the Colours of the Earth" by Michael F. Flynn [Asimov's Oct/Nov 2006]
4"All the Things You Are" by Mike Resnick [Jim Baen's Universe Oct 2006]
5"Yellow Card Man" by Paolo Bacigalupi [Asimov's Dec 2006]

Best Short Story

Winner:"Impossible Dreams" by Tim Pratt [Asimov's Jul 2006]
2"How to Talk to Girls at Parties" by Neil Gaiman [Fragile Things (William Morrow), 2006]
3"Eight Episodes" by Robert Reed [Asimov's Jun 2006]
4"Kin" by Bruce McAllister [Asimov's Feb 2006]
5"The House Beyond Your Sky" by Benjamin Rosenbaum [Strange Horizons Sep 2006]

Best Related Book

Winner:James Tiptree, Jr.: The Double Life of Alice B. Sheldon by Julie Phillips [St. Martin's Press, 2006]
2Worldcon Guest of Honor Speeches ed. by Mike Resnick and Joe Siclari [ISFiC, 2006]
3Heinlein's Children: The Juveniles by Joseph T. Major [Advent: Publishing, 2006]
4About Writing: Seven Essays, Four Letters, and Five Interviews by Samuel R. Delany [Wesleyan University Press, 2006]
5Cover Story: The Art of John Picacio by John Picacio [Monkeybrain, 2006]

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner:Pan's Labyrinth (2006) [Picturehouse] Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro; Directed by Guillermo del Toro
2Children of Men (2006) [Universal Pictures] Screenplay by Alfonso Cuaron & Timothy J. Sexton and David Arata and Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby; Directed by Alfonso Cuaron; based on the novel The Children of Men by P. D. James
3The Prestige (2006) [Touchstone Pictures] Screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan; Directed by Christopher Nolan; based on the novel by Christopher Priest
4V for Vendetta (2006) [Warner Bros.] Screenplay by The Wachowski Brothers; Directed by James McTeigue; based on the graphic novel illustrated by David Lloyd
5A Scanner Darkly (2006) [Warner Independent Pictures] Screenplay by Richard Linklater; Directed by Richard Linklater; based on the novel by Philip K. Dick

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner:Doctor Who - "Girl in the Fireplace" (2006) [BBC Wales/BBC1] Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Euros Lyn
2Doctor Who - "Army of Ghosts / Doomsday" (2006) [BBC Wales/BBC1] Written by Russell T Davies; Directed by Graeme Harper
3Battlestar Galactica - "Downloaded" (2006) [NBC Universal/British Sky Broadcasting] Written by Bradley Thompson & David Weddle; Directed by Jeff Woolnough
4Doctor Who - "School Reunion" (2006) [BBC Wales/BBC1] Written by Toby Whithouse; Directed by James Hawes
5Stargate SG-1 - "200" (2006) [Double Secret Productions/NBC Universal] Written by Brad Wright & Robert C. Cooper & Joseph Mallozzi & Paul Mullie & Carl Binder & Martin Gero & Alan McCullough; Directed by Martin Wood

Best Editor - Long Form

Winner:Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor Books)
2David G. Hartwell (Tor Books)
3James Patrick Baen (Baen Books)
4Ginjer Buchanan (Ace Books)
5Lou Anders (Pyr Books)

Best Editor - Short Form

Winner:Gordon Van Gelder (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)
2Sheila Williams (Asimov's)
3Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
4Gardner Dozois (The Year's Best Science Fiction)
5David G. Hartwell (Year's Best SF; New York Review of Science Fiction)

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Donato Giancola
2Bob Eggleton
3John Picacio
4Stephan Martiniere
5John Jude Palencar

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, and Liza Groen Trombi
2Interzone ed. by Andy Cox
3The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, David G. Hartwell, and Kevin J. Maroney
4Ansible ed. by Dave Langford
5Lady Churchill's Rosebud Wristlet ed. by Gavin J. Grant and Kelly Link

Best Fanzine

Winner:Science-Fiction Five-Yearly ed. by Lee Hoffman, Geri Sullivan, and Randy Byers
2Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III
3Plokta ed. by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott
4Banana Wings ed. by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
5The Drink Tank ed. by Chris Garcia

Best Fan Writer

Winner:Dave Langford
2John Scalzi
3John Hertz
4Steven H Silver
5Chris Garcia

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Frank Wu
2Sue Mason
3Brad W. Foster
4Teddy Harvia
5Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:Naomi Novik (1st year of eligibility)
2Sarah Monette (2nd year of eligibility)
3Scott Lynch (1st year of eligibility)
4Brandon Sanderson (2nd year of eligibility)
5Lawrence M. Schoen (2nd year of eligibility)

2006 || 2007 || 2008

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.