The Long List of Hugo Awards, 2008

(Denvention 3 [Denver, Colorado; August 6–10, 2008])

2007 || 2008 || 2009

Best Novel

Winner:The Yiddish Policemen's Union by Michael Chabon [HarperCollins, 2007; Fourth Estate, 2007]
2The Last Colony by John Scalzi [Tor, 2007]
3Halting State by Charles Stross [Ace, 2007; Orbit UK, 2007]
4Rollback by Robert J. Sawyer [Tor, 2007; Analog Oct,Nov,Dec 2006,Jan/Feb 2007]
5Brasyl by Ian McDonald [Gollancz, 2007; Pyr, 2007]

Best Novella

Winner:"All Seated on the Ground" by Connie Willis [Asimov's Dec 2007; Subterranean Press, 2007]
2"Recovering Apollo 8" by Kristine Kathryn Rusch [Asimov's Feb 2007]
3"The Fountain of Age" by Nancy Kress [Asimov's Jul 2007]
4"Memorare" by Gene Wolfe [F&SF Apr 2007]
5"Stars Seen Through Stone" by Lucius Shepard [F&SF Jul 2007]

Best Novelette

Winner:"The Merchant and the Alchemist's Gate" by Ted Chiang [F&SF Sep 2007; Subterranean Press, 2007]
2"The Cambist and Lord Iron: A Fairy Tale of Economics" by Daniel Abraham [Logorrhea ed. by John Klima (Bantam Spectra), 2007]
3"Dark Integers" by Greg Egan [Asimov's Oct/Nov 2007]
4"Glory" by Greg Egan [The New Space Opera ed. by Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan (HarperCollins/Eos), 2007]
5"Finisterra" by David Moles [F&SF Dec 2007]

Best Short Story

Winner:"Tideline" by Elizabeth Bear [Asimov's Jun 2007]
2"A Small Room in Koboldtown" by Michael Swanwick [The Dog Said Bow-Wow (Tachyon), 2007; Asimov's Apr/May 2007]
3"Last Contact" by Stephen Baxter [The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction ed. by George Mann (Solaris Books), 2007]
4"Who's Afraid of Wolf 359?" by Ken MacLeod [The New Space Opera ed. by Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan (HarperCollins/Eos), 2007]
5"Distant Replay" by Mike Resnick [Asimov's Apr/May 2007]

Best Related Book

Winner:Brave New Words: The Oxford Dictionary of Science Fiction by Jeff Prucher [Oxford University Press, 2007]
2Breakfast in the Ruins: Science Fiction in the Last Millennium by Barry N. Malzberg [Baen, 2007]
3The Company They Keep: C. S. Lewis and J. R. R. Tolkien as Writers in Community by Diana Glyer; appendix by David Bratman [Kent State University Press, 2007]
4Emshwiller: Infinity x Two by Luis Ortiz; intro. by Carol Emshwiller; fwd. by Alex Eisenstein [Nonstop, 2007]
5The Arrival by Shaun Tan [Arthur A. Levine/Scholastic, 2007]

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner:Stardust (2007) [Paramount Pictures] Written by Jane Goldman & Matthew Vaughn; Directed by Matthew Vaughn; based on the novel by Neil Gaiman, illustrated by Charles Vess
2Heroes, Season 1 (2007) [NBC Universal Television and Tailwind Productions] Written by Tim Kring, Jeph Loeb, Bryan Fuller, Michael Green, Natalie Chaidez, Jesse Alexander, Adam Armus, Aron Eli Coleite, Joe Pokaski, Christopher Zatta, and Chuck Kim; Directed by David Semel, Allan Arkush, Greg Beeman, Ernest R. Dickerson, Paul Shapiro, Donna Deitch, Paul A. Edwards, John Badham, Terrence O'Hara, Jeannot Szwarc, Roxann Dawson, Kevin Bray, and Adam Kane; Created by Tim Kring
3Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix (2007) [Warner Bros. Pictures] Written by Michael Goldenberg; Directed by David Yates; based on the novel by J. K. Rowling
4Enchanted (2007) [Walt Disney Pictures] Written by Bill Kelly; Directed by Kevin Lima
5The Golden Compass (2007) [New Line Cinema] Written and directed by Chris Weitz; based on the novel by Philip Pullman

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner:Doctor Who - "Blink" (2007) [BBC] Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Hettie Macdonald
2Doctor Who - "Human Nature / Family of Blood" (2007) [BBC] Written by Paul Cornell; Directed by Charles Palmer
3Battlestar Galactica - "Razor" (2007) [Sci Fi Channel] Written by Michael Taylor; Directed by Félix Enríquez Alcalá and Wayne Rose (televised version, not DVD)
4Torchwood - "Captain Jack Harkness" (2007) [BBC Wales] Written by Catherine Tregenna; Directed by Ashley Way
5Star Trek: New Voyages - "World Enough and Time" (2007) [Cawley Entertainment Co. and The Magic Time Co.] Written by Michael Reaves & Marc Scott Zicree; Directed by Marc Scott Zicree

Best Editor - Long Form

Winner:David G. Hartwell (Tor Books/Forge)
2Patrick Nielsen Hayden (Tor Books)
3Beth Meacham (Tor Books)
4Ginjer Buchanan (Ace Books/Roc)
5Lou Anders (Pyr Books)

Best Editor - Short Form

Winner:Gordon Van Gelder (The Magazine of Fantasy & Science Fiction)
2Sheila Williams (Asimov's)
3Ellen Datlow (The Year's Best Fantasy and Horror (St. Martin's), Coyote Road (Viking), Inferno (Tor))
4Stanley Schmidt (Analog)
5Jonathan Strahan (The New Space Opera (Harpercollins/Eos), the Best Science Fiction and Fantasy of the Year, Volume 1 (Night Shade), Eclipse One (Night Shade))

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Stephan Martiniere
2John Picacio
3Bob Eggleton
4Phil Foglio
5John Harris
6Shaun Tan

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, and Liza Groen Trombi
2Interzone ed. by Andy Cox
3The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, Kristine Dikeman, David G. Hartwell, and Kevin J. Maroney
4Ansible ed. by David Langford
5Helix ed. by William Sanders and Lawrence Watt-Evans

Best Fanzine

Winner:File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
2Plokta ed. by Alison Scott, Steve Davies, and Mike Scott
3Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III
4Argentus ed. by Steven H Silver
5The Drink Tank ed. by Chris Garcia

Best Fan Writer

Winner:John Scalzi
2David Langford
3Cheryl Morgan
4Steven H Silver
5Chris Garcia

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Brad Foster
2Sue Mason
3Steve Stiles
4Teddy Harvia
5Taral Wayne

Special Awards

 NESFA Press

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:Mary Robinette Kowal (2nd year of eligibility)
2Scott Lynch (2nd year of eligibility)
3David Louis Edelman (2nd year of eligibility)
4Joe Abercrombie (2nd year of eligibility)
5Jon Armstrong (1st year of eligibility)
6David Anthony Durham (1st year of eligibility)

2007 || 2008 || 2009

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.