The Long List of Hugo Awards, 2009

(Anticipation [Montreal, Canada; August 6–10, 2009])

2008 || 2009 || 2010

Best Novel

Winner:The Graveyard Book by Neil Gaiman [HarperCollins, 2008; Bloomsbury UK, 2008]
2Little Brother by Cory Doctorow [Tor Teen, 2008; HarperVoyager UK, 2008]
3Anathem by Neal Stephenson [Morrow, 2008; Atlantic UK, 2008]
4Saturn's Children by Charles Stross [Ace, 2008; Orbit UK, 2008]
5Zoe's Tale by John Scalzi [Tor, 2008]

Best Novella

Winner:"The Erdmann Nexus" by Nancy Kress [Asimov's Oct/Nov 2008]
2"Truth" by Robert Reed [Asimov's Oct/Nov 2008]
3"The Tear" by Ian McDonald [Galactic Empires ed. by Gardner Dozois (SFBC), 2008]
4"True Names" by Benjamin Rosenbaum and Cory Doctorow [Fast Forward 2 ed. by Lou Anders (Pyr), 2008]
5"The Political Prisoner" by Charles Coleman Finlay [F&SF Aug 2008]

Best Novelette

Winner:"Shoggoths in Bloom" by Elizabeth Bear [Asimov's Mar 2008]
2"Pride and Prometheus" by John Kessel [F&SF Jan 2008]
3"The Ray-Gun: A Love Story" by James Alan Gardner [Asimov's Feb 2008]
4"The Gambler" by Paolo Bacigalupi [Fast Forward 2 ed. by Lou Anders (Pyr), 2008]
5"Alastair Baffle's Emporium of Wonders" by Mike Resnick [Asimov's Jan 2008]

Best Short Story

Winner:"Exhalation" by Ted Chiang [Eclipse Two ed. by Jonathan Strahan (Night Shade), 2008]
2"26 Monkeys, Also the Abyss" by Kij Johnson [Asimov's Jul 2008]
3"From Babel's Fall'n Glory We Fled" by Michael Swanwick [Asimov's Feb 2008]
4"Evil Robot Monkey" by Mary Robinette Kowal [The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, Volume Two ed. by George Mann (Solaris), 2008]
5"Article of Faith" by Mike Resnick [Baen's Universe Oct 2008]

Best Related Book

Winner:Your Hate Mail Will Be Graded: A Decade of Whatever, 1998-2008 by John Scalzi [Subterranean Press, 2008]
2Rhetorics of Fantasy by Farah Mendlesohn [Wesleyan University Press, 2008]
3What It Is We Do When We Read Science Fiction by Paul Kincaid [Beccon Publications, 2008]
4The Vorkosigan Companion: The Universe of Lois McMaster Bujold ed. by Lillian Stewart Carl and John Helfers [Baen, 2008]
5Spectrum 15: The Best in Contemporary Fantastic Art ed. by Cathy Fenner and Arnie Fenner [Underwood Books, 2008]

Best Graphic Story

Winner:Girl Genius, Volume 8: Agatha Heterodyne and the Chapel of Bones [Airship Entertainment, 2008] Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio; Art by Phil Foglio; Colors by Cheyenne Wright
2Serenity: Better Days [Dark Horse Comics, 2008] Written by Joss Whedon & Brett Matthews; Art by Will Conrad; Color by Michelle Madsen; Cover by Jo Chen
3The Dresden Files: Welcome to the Jungle [Del Rey/Dabel Brothers Publishing, 2008] Written by Jim Butcher; Art by Ardian Syaf
4Fables: War and Pieces [DC/Vertigo, 2008] Written by Bill Willingham; Art by Steve Leialoha and Andrew Pepoy; Penciled by Mark Buckingham; Color by Lee Loughridge; Letters by Todd Klein
5Y: The Last Man, Volume 10: Whys and Wherefores [DC/Vertigo, 2008] Written and created by Brian K. Vaughan; Penciled/created by Pia Guerra; Inked by Jose Marzan, Jr.
6Schlock Mercenary: The Body Politic [The Tayler Corporation, 2008] Story and art by Howard Tayler

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner:WALL-E (2008) [Pixar/Walt Disney] Screenplay by Andrew Stanton & Jim Reardon; Story by Andrew Stanton & Pete Docter; Directed by Andrew Stanton
2The Dark Knight (2008) [Warner Brothers] Screenplay by Jonathan Nolan and Christopher Nolan; Story by Christopher Nolan & David S. Goyer; Directed by Christopher Nolan; based on characters created by Bob Kane
3Iron Man (2008) [Paramount, Marvel Studios] Screenplay by Mark Fergus & Hawk Ostby and Art Marcum & Matt Holloway; Directed by Jon Favreau; based on characters created by Stan Lee & Don Heck & Larry Lieber & Jack Kirby
4Hellboy II: The Golden Army (2008) [Dark Horse, Universal] Screenplay by Guillermo del Toro; Story by Guillermo del Toro & Mike Mignola; Directed by Guillermo del Toro; based on the comic by Mike Mignola
5METAtropolis [Audible Inc., 2008] ed. by John Scalzi; Written by Elizabeth Bear, Jay Lake, Tobias Buckell, John Scalzi, and Karl Schroeder

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner:Doctor Horrible's Sing-Along Blog (2008) [Mutant Enemy] Written by Joss Whedon & Zack Whedon & Jed Whedon & Maurissa Tancharoen; Directed by Joss Whedon
2Doctor Who - "Silence in the Library / Forest of the Dead" (2008) [BBC Wales] Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Euros Lyn
3Doctor Who - "Turn Left" (2008) [BBC Wales] Written by Russell T Davies; Directed by Graeme Harper
4Battlestar Galactica - "Revelations" (2008) [NBC Universal] Written by Bradley Thompson & David Weddle; Directed by Michael Rymer
5Lost - "The Constant" (2008) [Bad Robot, ABC studios] Written by Carlton Cuse & Damon Lindelof; Directed by Jack Bender

Best Editor - Long Form

Winner:David G. Hartwell
2Patrick Nielsen Hayden
3Lou Anders
3Beth Meacham
5Ginjer Buchanan

Best Editor - Short Form

Winner:Ellen Datlow
2Gordon Van Gelder
3Sheila Williams
4Stanley Schmidt
5Jonathan Strahan

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Donato Giancola
2John Picacio
3Bob Eggleton
4Shaun Tan
5Dan dos Santos

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Weird Tales ed. by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal
2The New York Review of Science Fiction ed. by Kathryn Cramer, Kris Dikeman, David G. Hartwell, and Kevin J. Maroney
3Interzone ed. by Andy Cox
4Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, and Liza Groen Trombi
5Clarkesworld ed. by Neil Clarke, Nick Mamatas, and Sean Wallace

Best Fanzine

Winner:Electric Velocipede ed. by John Klima
2File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
3The Drink Tank ed. by Chris Garcia
4Argentus ed. by Steven H Silver
5Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III
6Banana Wings ed. by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

Best Fan Writer

Winner:Cheryl Morgan
2David Langford
3Chris Garcia
4Steven H Silver
5John Hertz

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Frank Wu
2Sue Mason
3Brad W. Foster
4Taral Wayne
5Alan F. Beck
Withdrawn - Nomination Declined:
Steve Stiles

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:David Anthony Durham (2nd year of eligibility)
2Aliette de Bodard (2nd year of eligibility)
3Tony Pi (2nd year of eligibility)
4Gord Sellar (2nd year of eligibility)
5Felix Gilman (1st year of eligibility)

2008 || 2009 || 2010

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.