The Long List of Hugo Awards, 2010

(Aussiecon Four [Melbourne, Australia; September 2–6, 2010])

2009 || 2010 || 2011

Best Novel

Winners(tie):The Windup Girl by Paolo Bacigalupi [Night Shade, 2009]
 The City & The City by China Miéville [Del Rey, 2009; Macmillan UK, 2009]
3Boneshaker by Cherie Priest [Tor, 2009]
4Wake by Robert J. Sawyer [Ace, 2009; Penguin, 2009; Gollancz, 2009; Analog, 2009]
5Julian Comstock: A Story of 22nd-Century America by Robert Charles Wilson [Tor, 2009]
6Palimpsest by Catherynne M. Valente [Bantam Spectra, 2009]

Best Novella

Winner:"Palimpsest" by Charles Stross [Wireless, 2009; Ace, 2009; Orbit, 2009]
2The God Engines by John Scalzi [Subterranean, 2009]
3The Women of Nell Gwynne's by Kage Baker [Subterranean, 2009]
4"Act One" by Nancy Kress [Asimov's Mar 2009]
5"Vishnu at the Cat Circus" by Ian McDonald [Cyberabad Days (Pyr), 2009; Gollancz, 2009]
6Shambling Towards Hiroshima by James Morrow [Tachyon, 2009]

Best Novelette

Winner:"The Island" by Peter Watts [The New Space Opera 2 ed. by Gardner Dozois & Jonathan Strahan (Eos), 2009]
2"Overtime" by Charles Stross [ Dec 2009]
3"Eros, Philia, Agape" by Rachel Swirsky [ Mar 2009]
4"It Takes Two" by Nicola Griffith [Eclipse Three ed. by Jonathan Strahan (Night Shade), 2009]
5"One of Our Bastards Is Missing" by Paul Cornell [The Solaris Book of New Science Fiction, Volume Three ed. by George Mann (Solaris), 2009]
6"Sinner, Baker, Fabulist, Priest; Red Mask, Black Mask, Gentleman, Beast" by Eugie Foster [Interzone Feb 2009]

Best Short Story

Winner:"Bridesicle" by Will McIntosh [Asimov's Jan 2009]
2"The Bride of Frankenstein" by Mike Resnick [Asimov's Dec 2009]
3"Non-Zero Probabilities" by N. K. Jemisin [Clarkesworld Sep 2009]
4"Spar" by Kij Johnson [Clarkesworld Oct 2009]
5"The Moment" by Lawrence M. Schoen [Footprints ed. by Jay Lake & Eric T. Reynolds (Hadley Rille), 2009]

Best Related Work

Winner:This Is Me, Jack Vance! (Or, More Properly, This Is "I") by Jack Vance [Subterranean, 2009]
2The Inter-Galactic Playground: A Critical Study of Children's and Teens' Science Fiction by Farah Mendlesohn [McFarland, 2009]
3Hope-In-The-Mist: The Extraordinary Career and Mysterious Life of Hope Mirrlees by Michael Swanwick [Temporary Culture, 2009]
4The Secret Feminist Cabal: A Cultural History of SF Feminisms by Helen Merrick [Aqueduct, 2009]
5On Joanna Russ ed. by Farah Mendlesohn [Wesleyan, 2009]
6Canary Fever: Reviews by John Clute [Beccon, 2009]

Best Graphic Story

Winner:Girl Genius, Volume 9: Agatha Heterodyne and the Heirs of the Storm [Airship Entertainment, 2009] Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio; Art by Phil Foglio; Colors by Cheyenne Wright
2Batman: Whatever Happened to the Caped Crusader? [DC Comics, 2009] Written by Neil Gaiman; Penciled by Andy Kubert; Inked by Scott Williams
3Fables Vol 12: The Dark Ages [Vertigo Comics, 2009] Written by Bill Willingham; Art by Peter Gross & Andrew Pepoy, Michael Allred, and David Hahn; Penciled by Mark Buckingham; Color by Lee Loughridge & Laura Allred; Letters by Todd Klein
4Captain Britain and MI13. Volume 3: Vampire State [Marvel Comics, 2009] Written by Paul Cornell; Penciled by Leonard Kirk with Mike Collins, Adrian Alphona, and Ardian Syaf
5Schlock Mercenary: The Longshoreman of the Apocalypse [The Tayler Corporation, 2009] Written and illustrated by Howard Tayler

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner:Moon (2009) [Liberty Films] Screenplay by Nathan Parker; Story by Duncan Jones; Directed by Duncan Jones
2District 9 (2009) [TriStar Pictures] Screenplay by Neill Blomkamp & Terri Tatchell; Directed by Neill Blomkamp
3Up (2009) [Disney/Pixar] Screenplay by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter; Story by Bob Peterson and Pete Docter & Thomas McCarthy; Directed by Bob Peterson & Pete Docter
4Star Trek (2009) [Paramount] Screenplay by Robert Orci & Alex Kurtzman; Directed by J. J. Abrams
5Avatar (2009) [Twentieth Century Fox] Screenplay and directed by James Cameron

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner:Doctor Who - "The Waters of Mars" (2009) [BBC Wales] Written by Russell T Davies & Phil Ford; Directed by Graeme Harper
2Doctor Who - "The Next Doctor" (2009) [BBC Wales] Written by Russell T Davies; Directed by Andy Goddard
3Doctor Who - "Planet of the Dead" (2009) [BBC Wales] Written by Russell T Davies & Gareth Roberts; Directed by James Strong
4Dollhouse - "Epitaph 1" (2009) [Mutant Enemy] Written by Maurissa Tancharoen & Jed Whedon; Story by Joss Whedon; Directed by David Solomon
5FlashForward - "No More Good Days" (2009) [ABC] Written by Brannon Braga & David S. Goyer; Directed by David S. Goyer; based on the novel by Robert J. Sawyer

Best Editor - Long Form

Winner:Patrick Nielsen Hayden
2Lou Anders
3Ginjer Buchanan
4Liz Gorinsky
5Juliet Ulman

Best Editor - Short Form

Winner:Ellen Datlow
2Jonathan Strahan
3Sheila Williams
4Gordon Van Gelder
5Stanley Schmidt

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Shaun Tan
2John Picacio
3Stephan Martiniere
4Bob Eggleton
5Dan dos Santos

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Clarkesworld ed. by Neil Clarke, Sean Wallace, and Cheryl Morgan
2Interzone ed. by Andy Cox
3Locus ed. by Charles N. Brown, Kirsten Gong-Wong, and Liza Groen Trombi
4Weird Tales ed. by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal
5Ansible ed. by David Langford

Best Fanzine

Winner:StarShipSofa ed. by Tony C. Smith
2Banana Wings ed. by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
3Drink Tank ed. by Christopher J Garcia; with guest editor James Bacon
4File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
5Argentus ed. by Steven H Silver
6Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III

Best Fan Writer

Winner:Frederik Pohl
2Claire Brialey
3Christopher J Garcia
4James Nicoll
5Lloyd Penney

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Brad W. Foster
2Dave Howell
3Taral Wayne
4Steve Stiles
5Sue Mason

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:Seanan McGuire (1st year of eligibility)
2Felix Gilman (2nd year of eligibility)
3Gail Carriger (1st year of eligibility)
4Lezli Robyn (2nd year of eligibility)
5Saladin Ahmed (1st year of eligibility)

2009 || 2010 || 2011

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.