The Long List of Hugo Awards, 2011

(Renovation [Reno, Nevada; August 17–21, 2011])

(1006 valid nominating ballots were counted, 992 electronic and 14 paper)

2010 || 2011 || 2012

Best Novel

Winner:Blackout/All Clear by Connie Willis [Ballantine Spectra, 2010]
2Feed by Mira Grant [Orbit, 2010]
3Cryoburn by Lois McMaster Bujold [Baen, 2010]
4The Hundred Thousand Kingdoms by N. K. Jemisin [Orbit, 2010]
5The Dervish House by Ian McDonald [Gollancz, 2010; Pyr, 2010]

Best Novella

Winner:The Lifecycle of Software Objects by Ted Chiang [Subterranean, 2010]
2"Troika" by Alastair Reynolds [Godlike Machines ed. by Jonathan Strahan (SFBC), 2010]
3"The Lady Who Plucked Red Flowers Beneath the Queen's Window" by Rachel Swirsky [Subterranean Magazine Summer 2010]
4"The Sultan of the Clouds" by Geoffrey A. Landis [Asimov's Sep 2010]
5"The Maiden Flight of McCauley's Bellerophon" by Elizabeth Hand [Stories: All New Tales ed. by Neil Gaiman and Al Sarrantonio (William Morrow), 2010]

Best Novelette

Winner:"The Emperor of Mars" by Allen M. Steele [Asimov's Jun 2010]
2"Eight Miles" by Sean McMullen [Analog Sep 2010]
3"Plus or Minus" by James Patrick Kelly [Asimov's Dec 2010]
4"That Leviathan, Whom Thou Hast Made" by Eric James Stone [Analog Sep 2010]
5"The Jaguar House, in Shadow" by Aliette de Bodard [Asimov's Jul 2010]

Best Short Story

Winner:"For Want of a Nail" by Mary Robinette Kowal [Asimov's Sep 2010]
2"Amaryllis" by Carrie Vaughn [Lightspeed Jun 2010]
3"The Things" by Peter Watts [Clarkesworld Jan 2010]
4"Ponies" by Kij Johnson [ Nov 17, 2010]
This category has 4 nominees due to a 5% requirement under 3.8.5 of the WSFS constitution.

Best Related Work

Winner:Chicks Dig Time Lords: A Celebration of Doctor Who by the Women Who Love It ed. by Lynne M. Thomas and Tara O'Shea [Mad Norwegian, 2010]
2Robert A. Heinlein: In Dialogue with His Century, Volume 1: (1907–1948): Learning Curve by William H. Patterson, Jr. [Tor, 2010]
3The Business of Science Fiction: Two Insiders Discuss Writing and Publishing by Mike Resnick and Barry N. Malzberg [McFarland, 2010]
4Writing Excuses, Season 4 by Brandon Sanderson, Jordan Sanderson, Howard Tayler, and Dan Wells
5Bearings: Reviews 1997–2001 by Gary K. Wolfe [Beccon, 2010]

Best Graphic Story

Winner:Girl Genius, Volume 10: Agatha Heterodyne and the Guardian Muse [Airship Entertainment, 2010] Written by Kaja & Phil Foglio; Art by Phil Foglio; Colors by Cheyenne Wright
2Fables: Witches [Vertigo, 2010] Written by Bill Willingham; Illustrated by Mark Buckingham
3Schlock Mercenary: Massively Parallel [Hypernode, 2010] Written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; Colors by Howard Tayler and Travis Walton
4Grandville Mon Amour [Dark Horse Comics, 2010] by Bryan Talbot
5The Unwritten, Volume 2: Inside Man [Vertigo, 2010] Written by Mike Carey; Illustrated by Peter Gross

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

Winner:Inception (2010) [Warner] Written and directed by Christopher Nolan
2How to Train Your Dragon (2010) [DreamWorks] Screenplay by William Davies and Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders; Directed by Dean DeBlois & Chris Sanders
3Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows: Part 1 (2010) [Warner] Screenplay by Steve Kloves; Directed by David Yates
4Toy Story 3 (2010) [Pixar/Disney] Screenplay by Michael Arndt; Story by John Lasseter and Andrew Stanton & Lee Unkrich; Directed by Lee Unkrich
5Scott Pilgrim vs. the World (2010) [Universal] Screenplay by Michael Bacall & Edgar Wright; Directed by Edgar Wright

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Winner:Doctor Who - "The Pandorica Opens/The Big Bang" (2010) [BBC Wales] Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Toby Haynes
2Doctor Who - "Vincent and the Doctor" (2010) [BBC Wales] Written by Richard Curtis; Directed by Jonny Campbell
3Doctor Who - "A Christmas Carol" (2010) [BBC Wales] Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Toby Haynes
4Fuck Me, Ray Bradbury (2010) Written by Rachel Bloom; Directed by Paul Briganti
5The Lost Thing (2010) [Passion Pictures] Written by Shaun Tan; Directed by Andrew Ruhemann & Shaun Tan

Best Editor - Long Form

Winner:Lou Anders
2Ginjer Buchanan
3Beth Meacham
4Liz Gorinsky
5Moshe Feder
6Nick Mamatas
7Juliet Ulman
This category has 7 nominees due to a tie for the final position

Best Editor - Short Form

Winner:Sheila Williams
2Stanley Schmidt
3John Joseph Adams
4Jonathan Strahan
5Gordon Van Gelder

Best Professional Artist

Winner:Shaun Tan
2Stephan Martiniere
3Dan dos Santos
3John Picacio
5Bob Eggleton

Best Semiprozine

Winner:Clarkesworld ed. by Neil Clarke, Cheryl Morgan, and Sean Wallace; Podcast directed by Kate Baker
2Locus ed. by Liza Groen Trombi and Kirsten Gong-Wong
3Interzone ed. by Andy Cox
4Lightspeed ed. by John Joseph Adams
5Weird Tales ed. by Ann VanderMeer and Stephen H. Segal

Best Fanzine

Winner:The Drink Tank ed. by Christopher J Garcia and James Bacon
2File 770 ed. by Mike Glyer
3StarShipSofa ed. by Tony C. Smith
4Challenger ed. by Guy H. Lillian III
5Banana Wings ed. by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer

Best Fan Writer

Winner:Claire Brialey
2Christopher J Garcia
3Steven H Silver
4James Bacon
5James Nicoll

Best Fan Artist

Winner:Brad W. Foster
2Randall Munroe
3Maurine Starkey
4Steve Stiles
5Taral Wayne

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Winner:Lev Grossman (2nd year of eligibility)
2Lauren Beukes (2nd year of eligibility)
3Saladin Ahmed (2nd year of eligibility)
4Dan Wells (2nd year of eligibility)
5Larry Correia (2nd year of eligibility)

2010 || 2011 || 2012

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.