The Long List of Hugo Awards, 2013

(LoneStarCon 3 [San Antonio, Texas, August 29–September 2, 2013])

(1343 valid nominating ballots were received (1329 electronic and 14 paper.))

(Toastmaster: Paul Cornell)

(Base design: Vincent Villafranca)

(Awards Administrators: Todd Dashoff, Vince Docherty, Saul Jaffe, Steven Staton, Ben Yalow)

2012 || 2013

Best Novel

Throne of the Crescent Moon by Saladin Ahmed [DAW, 2012; Gollancz, 2013]
 Captain Vorpatril's Alliance by Lois McMaster Bujold [Baen, 2012]
 Blackout by Mira Grant [Orbit, 2012]
 2312 by Kim Stanley Robinson [Orbit, 2012]
 Redshirts: A Novel with Three Codas by John Scalzi [Tor, 2012; Gollancz, 2012]
1113 nominating ballots cast

Best Novella

On a Red Station, Drifting by Aliette de Bodard [Immersion Press, 2012]
 San Diego 2014: The Last Stand of the California Browncoats by Mira Grant [Orbit, 2012]
 After the Fall, Before the Fall, During the Fall by Nancy Kress [Tachyon, 2012]
 "The Stars Do Not Lie" by Jay Lake [Asimov's Oct/Nov 2012]
 The Emperor's Soul by Brandon Sanderson [Tachyon, 2012]
587 nominating ballots cast

Best Novelette

"The Girl-Thing Who Went Out for Sushi" by Pat Cadigan [Edge of Infinity ed. by Jonathan Strahan (Solaris), 2012]
 "The Boy Who Cast No Shadow" by Thomas Olde Heuvelt [Postscripts 26/27: Unfit for Eden (PS Publications), 2011]
 "In Sea-Salt Tears" by Seanan McGuire [Self-published, 2012]
 "Rat-Catcher" by Seanan McGuire [A Fantasy Medley 2 ed. by Yanni Kuznia (Subterranean), 2012]
 "Fade to White" by Catherynne M. Valente [Clarkesworld Aug 2012]
616 nominating ballots cast

Best Short Story

"Immersion" by Aliette de Bodard [Clarkesworld Jun 2012]
 "Mantis Wives" by Kij Johnson [Clarkesworld Aug 2012]
 "Mono no Aware" by Ken Liu [The Future is Japanese ed. by Nick Mamatas and Matsumi Washington (Haikasoru/VIZ Media LLC), 2012]
662 nominating ballots cast
This category has 3 nominees due to a 5% requirement under section 3.8.5 of the WSFS constitution.

Best Related Work

I Have an Idea for a Book... the Bibliography of Martin H. Greenberg by Martin H. Greenberg [The Battered Silicon Dispatch Box, 2012] Edited by John Helfers
 The Cambridge Companion to Fantasy Literature ed. by Edward James and Farah Mendlesohn [Cambridge University Press, 2012]
 Writing Excuses, Season Seven by Brandon Sanderson, Dan Wells, Mary Robinette Kowal, Howard Tayler, and Jordan Sanderson [podcast series, 2012]
 Chicks Unravel Time: Women Journey Through Every Season of Doctor Who ed. by Deborah Stanish and L. M. Myles [Mad Norwegian Press, 2012]
 Chicks Dig Comics: A Celebration of Comic Books by the Women Who Love Them ed. by Lynne M. Thomas and Sigrid Ellis [Mad Norwegian Press, 2012]
584 nominating ballots cast

Best Graphic Story

Saucer Country, Volume 1: Run [Vertigo, 2012] Written by Paul Cornell; Illustrated by Ryan Kelly, Jimmy Broxton, and Goran Sudžuka
 Locke & Key Volume 5: Clockworks [IDW, 2012] Written by Joe Hill; Illustrated by Gabriel Rodriguez
 Grandville Bête Noire [Dark Horse Comics, 2012; Jonathan Cape, 2012] Written and illustrated by Bryan Talbot
 Schlock Mercenary: Random Access Memorabilia [Hypernode Media, 2012] Written and illustrated by Howard Tayler; Colors by Travis Walton
 Saga, Volume One [Image Comics, 2012] Written by Brian K. Vaughn; Illustrated by Fiona Staples
427 nominating ballots cast

Best Dramatic Presentation, Long Form

The Cabin in the Woods (2012) [Mutant Enemy/Lionsgate] Screenplay by Drew Goddard & Joss Whedon; Directed by Drew Goddard
 Looper (2012) [FilmDistrict/EndGame Entertainment] Screenplay and directed by Rian Johnson
 The Hunger Games (2012) [Lionsgate/Color Force] Screenplay by Gary Ross & Suzanne Collins; Directed by Gary Ross
 The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey (2012) [WingNut Films/New Line Cinema/MGM/Warner Bros] Screenplay by Fran Walsh, Philippa Boyens, Peter Jackson, and Guillermo del Toro; Directed by Peter Jackson
 The Avengers (2012) [Marvel Studios/Disney/Paramount] Screenplay and directed by Joss Whedon
787 nominating ballots cast

Best Dramatic Presentation, Short Form

Fringe - "Letters of Transit" (2012) [Fox] Written by J. J. Abrams, Alex Kurtzman, Roberto Orci, Akiva Goldsman, J. H. Wyman, and Jeff Pinkner; Directed by Joe Chappelle
 Game of Thrones - "Blackwater" (2012) [HBO] Written by George R. R. Martin; Directed by Neil Marshall; Created by David Benioff and D. B. Weiss
 Doctor Who - "Asylum of the Daleks" (2012) [BBC Wales] Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Nick Hurran
 Doctor Who - "The Angels Take Manhattan" (2012) [BBC Wales] Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Nick Hurran
 Doctor Who - "The Snowmen" (2012) [BBC Wales] Written by Steven Moffat; Directed by Saul Metzstein
597 nominating ballots cast

Best Professional Editor - Long Form

Lou Anders
 Sheila Gilbert
 Liz Gorinsky
 Patrick Nielsen Hayden
 Toni Weisskopf
408 nominating ballots cast

Best Professional Editor - Short Form

John Joseph Adams
 Neil Clarke
 Stanley Schmidt
 Jonathan Strahan
 Sheila Williams
526 nominating ballots cast

Best Professional Artist

Vincent Chong
 Julie Dillon
 Dan dos Santos
 Chris McGrath
 John Picacio
519 nominating ballots cast

Best Semiprozine

Lightspeed ed. by John Joseph Adams and Stefan Rudnicki
 Beneath Ceaseless Skies ed. by Scott H. Andrews
 Clarkesworld ed. by Neil Clarke, Jason Heller, Sean Wallace, and Kate Baker
 Strange Horizons ed. by Niall Harrison, Jed Hartman, Brit Mandelo, An Owomoyela, Julia Rios, Abigail Nussbaum, Sonya Taaffe, Dave Nagdeman, and Rebecca Cross
 Apex Magazine ed. by Lynne M. Thomas, Jason Sizemore, and Michael Damian Thomas
404 nominating ballots cast

Best Fanzine

Journey Planet ed. by James Bacon, Chris Garcia, Emma J. King, Helen J. Montgomery, and Pete Young
 Banana Wings ed. by Claire Brialey and Mark Plummer
 SF Signal ed. by John Denardo, JP Frantz, and Patrick Hester
 Elitist Book Reviews ed. by Steven Diamond
 The Drink Tank ed. by Chris Garcia and James Bacon
370 nominating ballots cast

Best Fan Writer

James Bacon
 Christopher J Garcia
 Mark Oshiro
 Tansy Rayner Roberts
 Steven H Silver
485 nominating ballots cast

Best Fan Artist

Galen Dara
 Brad W. Foster
 Spring Schoenhuth
 Maurine Starkey
 Steve Stiles
293 nominating ballots cast

Best Fancast

SF Squeecast Elizabeth Bear, Paul Cornell, Seanan McGuire, Lynne M. Thomas, and Catherynne M. Valente, Presenters; David McHone-Chase, Technical Producer
 SF Signal Podcast by Patrick Hester, John Denardo, and JP Frantz
 Galactic Suburbia Podcast Alisa Krasnostein, Alexandra Pierce, and Tansy Rayner Roberts, Presenters; Andrew Finch, Producer
 StarShipSofa by Tony C. Smith
 The Coode Street Podcast by Jonathan Strahan and Gary K. Wolfe
346 nominating ballots cast

John W. Campbell Award for Best New Writer (Sponsored by the publisher of Analog Magazine and administered on their behalf by WSFS [Not a Hugo Award])

Zen Cho (2nd year of eligibility)
 Max Gladstone (1st year of eligibility)
 Mur Lafferty (2nd year of eligibility)
 Stina Leicht (2nd year of eligibility)
 Chuck Wendig (2nd year of eligibility)
476 nominating ballots cast

2012 || 2013

1946 || 1951 || 1953 || 1954 || 1955 || 1956 || 1957 || 1958 || 1959 || 1960 || 1961 || 1962 || 1963 || 1964 || 1965 || 1966
1967 || 1968 || 1969 || 1970 || 1971 || 1972 || 1973 || 1974 || 1975 || 1976 || 1977 || 1978 || 1979 || 1980 || 1981 || 1982
1983 || 1984 || 1985 || 1986 || 1987 || 1988 || 1989 || 1990 || 1991 || 1992 || 1993 || 1994 || 1995 || 1996 || 1997 || 1998
1999 || 2000 || 2001 || 2002 || 2003 || 2004 || 2005 || 2006 || 2007 || 2008 || 2009 || 2010 || 2011 || 2012 || 2013

Service Mark Notice: "World Science Fiction Society", "WSFS", "World Science Fiction Convention", "Worldcon", "NASFiC" and "Hugo Award" are service marks of the World Science Fiction Society, an unincorporated literary society. You can contact the WSFS Mark Protection Committee at <>.