NESFA Awards
Skylark image


The Edward E. Smith Memorial Award for Imaginative Fiction (the Skylark) is presented annually by NESFA to some person, who, in the opinion of the membership, has contributed significantly to science fiction, both through work in the field and by exemplifying the personal qualities which made the late "Doc" Smith well-loved by those who knew him.


The Jack Gaughan Award is presented annually to an emerging artist chosen by a panel of judges (which have included Vincent Di Fate, Kelly Freas, Michael Whelan, David Cherry, Bob Eggleton, Todd Lockwood, Irene Gallo, and Ron Walotsky).

Contests — Short Story Contest

The NESFA Short Story Contest is held most years, with awards presented to the winner and runners-up at Boskone. It is open to all amateur writers, defined as anyone who has not sold a story to a professional publication earlier than about three months before the convention. Entries must be science fiction or fantasy, less than 7,500 words long, and the original work of the person submitting them.