Menu Menu


Committees and Other Positions

Appointments to committees and other positions were made in June 2021 unless a different date is shown as [mm/yy]. In most cases their terms expire when their successors are appointed, usually at the next June Business Meeting; when there is some other known expiration date it is indicated as [to mm/yy]. Some relatively quiet positions may have been “held over” (and so marked) from previous years.

We also keep an extensive history of committee memberships.

Standing Committees:

Clubhouse Committee (clubhouse-committee[at]

Rick Kovalcik(c), David G. Grubbs, Chip Hitchcock, Mike Kerpan, Kelly Persons, Michael Sharrow, Tim Szczesuil, James Boggie, Michael Rasnick, Dave Anderson, Richard Duffy

Finance Committee[3frt] (finance-committee[at]

Suford Lewis(c), Tim Szczesuil(+), David G. Grubbs, Ann Broomhead, Robert Luoma, former Boskone and NESFA Treasurers as needed

Hotel Committee (hotel-committee[at]

Gay Ellen Dennett(c), Erin Underwood, James Boggie, Rick Kovalcik, Ben Yalow, Jim Mann

Index Committee


IT Committee [a.k.a. Computer, Web, Geeks] (geeks[at]

Rick Kovalcik(c), David G. Grubbs, Sharon Sbarsky, Tim Szczesuil, Dave Anderson, Mike Kerpan, Wes Brodsky, Richard Duffy, Erin Underwood, Louis Galvez, Mary Olszowka, Peter Olszowka, Robert Luoma, Tony Lewis

Webmasters: David G. Grubbs, Sharon Sbarsky, Rick Kovalcik, Erin Underwood (primarily Boskone).

Email Administrators: David G. Grubbs, Rick Kovalcik, Sharon Sbarsky

Library Committee (library[at]

Mike Kerpan(c), Gay Ellen Dennett, Kelly Persons, Robert Luoma, Michael Rasnick, Pat Lang

Donations & Extras: Mike Kerpan

Catalog: Mike Kerpan(c), Robert Luoma, Michael Rasnick

Membership Committee[3rsb] (memb-committee[at]

Richard Duffy(c), Wes Brodsky, Dave Cantor, Sharon Sbarsky, Tony Lewis

Nominating Committee[j] (nominating-committee[at]

David G. Grubbs(c), Ann Broomhead, Tim Szczesuil, Sharon Sbarsky

Rules Committee[3orsb] (rules-committee[at]

Dave Anderson(c), Mike Kerpan, Rick Kovalcik, Joe Ross

Ad-Hoc Committees:

Insurance Committee

Suford Lewis (paperwork/info expediter)

Outreach Committee

[Currently Unmanaged]

Display Window: Mike Kerpan, Michael Rasnick

Publicity: Erin Underwood

Facebook Page, etc: Rick Kovalcik, Louis Galvez, Mike Kerpan, Tony Lewis, Sharon Sbarsky, Erin Underwood

Meet-Up: Lous Galvez, Bill Todd

Live Journal: Rick Kovalcik

Other social Media: Erin Underwood, Louis Galvez

Halloween Party: James Boggie(l), Bill Todd, Gay Ellen Dennett(caterer), Mike Kerpan, Suford Lewis, Kelly Persons

NESFA Picnic: Gay Ellen Dennett(l), Mike Kerpan, Rick Kovalcik, Suford Lewis, Joe Ross, Dale Farmer

Media Days: Mike Kerpan(l), Michael Rasnick, Bill Todd

Game Days: Bill Todd(l), Mike Kerpan, Kelly Persons, Michael Rasnick

NESFA Reading Group: Louis Galvez

NESFA Writes: Lous Galvez

Book Inventory Reduction Committee


Archive Review Committee [10/16]

Gay Ellen Dennett(c), Brad Verter, Erin Underwood, Kelly Persons, Joe Ross, Rick Katze


Boskone Database Maintainer:

Dave Cantor

Boskone 59 Chair

Sharon Sbarsky

Boskone 59 Treasurer

Judy Bemis

Boskone 60 Chair

Tim Szczesuil

Boskone 60 Treasurer


Internet Management:

DNS administrator

Dave Anderson, David G. Grubbs

Domain Registration

Dave Anderson

ISP Contacts:

Dreamhost (DNS, email, website, Domain Registration)

David G. Grubbs, Sharon Sbarsky, Rick Kovalcik, Dave Anderson

Joel Lord (mailing lists)

Sharon Sbarsky, Rick Kovalcik, David G. Grubbs

RCN (connectivity)

Dave Anderson [held over]

Telephony contacts:

Vonage account (voice line)

Dave Anderson

eFax account (Fax line)

Dave Anderson

Other Positions:


Kelly Persons (Asst. Archivists: Suford Lewis)

Fellowship of NESFA Administrator

Ann Broomhead

Gaughan Award Administrator (gaughan[at]

Sharon Sbarsky(l)

Gaughan Award Judges[a]



Rick Kovalcik

MCFI Liaison

Rick Kovalcik

Online Liaison (info[at]

Rick Kovalcik, Sharon Sbarsky

Procurement (procurement[at]

Dave Anderson(l), Dale Farmer, Rick Kovalcik

Short Story Contest (storycontest[at]

Steven Lee(c); First Round Readers: Chip Hitchcock, Ann Crimmins, David G. Grubbs; Final Judges: TBD; Admin/email aide: David G. Grubbs

Skylark Award Administrator (skylark[at]

Joe Ross

Worldcon Liaison

Sharon Sbarsky

NESFA Press:


Tony Lewis

Business/Production Manager

Tim Szczesuil

Amazon.Com Database Updates

Tim Szczesuil, David G. Grubbs

Baker & Taylor Database Updates

Tony Lewis [held over]

Bowker Database Updates

Tony Lewis [held over]

Sending out review books:


Primary Book &/or Dustjacket Designer

David G. Grubbs, Matt Smaldone

Book Editors:

David G. Grubbs, Pat Lang, Tony Lewis, Erin Underwood

Boskone Book:

[None this year]

Boskone Book Advance Orders

Gay Ellen Dennett

NESFA Sales:


Tim Szczesuil

Mail Order (sales[at]

Tim Szczesuil

Credit card processing

Sharon Sbarsky & the usual suspects

Ecommerce / Miva

Sharon Sbarsky. Assistants: Anna Bradley, Tim Szczesuil

Returned Book processing

Suford Lewis, Robert Luoma, Tim Szczesuil

PSS Driving

David G. Grubbs, Tim Szczesuil

Stock Room Organizing

Robert Luoma, Kelly Persons

Speaker to

Tim Szczesuil

At-Con Sales

Boston Book Festival 2019

Gay Ellen Dennett(l), Dave Cantor, Mike Kerpan, Tony Lewis, Suford Lewis, Robert Luoma, Kelly Persons, Michael Rasnick

Readercon 2019

Richard Duffy

Boskone 57

James Boggie(l), Kelly Persons, Dale Farmer, Rick Katze, Tony Lewis


[Note: When removing entries from this file, add the names/dates/etc. to]

+: both explicitly appointed and an ex-officio member.

3: requires at least three members (in addition to any ex-officio members).

5: appointments to be made in June, July, or August of the second calendar year prior to the Boskone.

a: requires approval by the Membership to appoint or remove.

b: no-one may serve on both the Membership and Rules Committees.

c: committee chair.

f: requires approval by the Membership to appoint or remove; removal requires a secret ballot.

i: interim appointment made due to vacancies caused by previous incumbents having been elected to office.

l: lead person for activity

j: appointments to be made no later than the first meeting in January.

o: must not be an Officer.

r: must be a Regular Member.

s: requires approval by the Membership by secret ballot to appoint or remove.

t: includes the NESFA Treasurer and all active Boskone® treasurers as ex-officio members.

x: an ex-officio member who was not explicitly appointed.