Menu Menu

Jack Gaughan Award

The Jack Gaughan Award for Best Emerging Artist

Gaughan award

The Gaughan Award honors the memory of Jack Gaughan, a long-time friend of fandom and one of the finest SF artists of the 20th century. Because Jack felt it was important to encourage and recognize new blood in the field, The New England Science Fiction Association, Inc., presents the Gaughan Award annually to an emerging artist (an artist who has become a professional within the past five years) chosen by a panel of judges.

The winner of the Gaughan Award is announced during Boskone, NESFA’s annual convention.

1986 Stephen Hickman
1987 Val Lakey Lindahn
1988 Bob Eggleton
1989 Dell Harris
1990 Keith Parkinson
1991 Richard Hescox
1992 Jody Lee
1993 Nicholas Jainschigg
1994 Dorian Vallejo
1995 Bruce Jensen
1996 Charles Lang
1997 Lisa Snellings-Clark
1998 Donato Giancola
1999 Brom
2000 Stephen Daniele
2001 Mark Zug
2002 Terese Nielsen
2003 Martina Pilcerova
2004 Justin Sweet
2005 Adam Rex
2006 Scott M. Fischer
2007 Dan Dos Santos
2008 Shelly Wan
2009 Eric Fortune
2010 Tyler Jacobson
2014 Sam Burley
2016 Tommy Arnold
2017 Kirbi Fagan
2018 Alessandra Maria Pisano
2019 Nicolas Delort
2020 Iris Compiet
2021 Hilary Clarcq
2022 None awarded/
2023 Martina Fačková
2024 Alex dos Diaz