Menu Menu

Events

 

NESFA events are highlighted like this. Non-NESFA events at the clubhouse are highlighted like this. Extraordinary and exceptional events, dates, and reminders are highlighted like this.

Game and Video days at the Clubhouse have resumed. For now, NESFA and Boskone Business Meetings will remain via Zoom.

Please report any errors, and any relevant events which are not listed but are in or near New England or otherwise of interest to NESFA members, to calendar@nesfa.org.

In addition to the activities listed here, some NESFA members gather at the clubhouse almost every Wednesday evening to work, socialize, and play games (often Dominion). The building is almost always open between 6 pm and 10 pm on Wednesday evenings, and often later.  When the weather is inclement, please call 617-625-2311 to make sure that there are people at the clubhouse before showing up.

The dumpster will be emptied every two weeks on Mondays (except on Tuesday when Monday is a holiday).

Please leave a clear path to the dumpster, and plenty of clear space around it on pickup days.

Upcoming dumpster emptying dates are Nov 21, Dec 5, Dec 19, Jan 2, Jan 16, Jan 30, Feb 13, Feb 27, Mar 13, Mar 27, Apr 10, Apr 24, May 8, May 22, Jun 5, Jun 19.

The clubhouse will be cleaned by professional cleaners on the first Friday of every month until further notice.

Please schedule your activities so as not to interfere with their work.

Upcoming clubhouse cleaning dates are Dec 2, January 6, February 3, March 3, April 7, May 5, June 2.

 


Filter By:

Friday, November 25 - Sunday, November 27, 2022
Chessiecon 2022 in Timonium, MD
Saturday, November 26, 2022 • 1:00pm to 6:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, November 26, 2022 • 6:00pm to whenever
Turkeyfest Double Feature Night NESFA will be hosting a double helping of cinematic turkeys starting at 6 pm. You can sign up at https://www.meetup.com/new-england-science-fiction-association/events/289750015/ or RSVP in the nesfa-active email list. At the clubhouse.
Sunday, November 27, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to 10:00pm
Game Day Join us for Board, Card, & Role Playing Games at the NESFA Clubhouse! Bring your own games or play from our collection. We will happily teach games! Proof of COVID vaccination is required. We are masking indoors. Attendance will be limited. RSVP is required: gaming-coordinator@nesfa.org At the clubhouse.
Monday, November 28, 2022 • 8:00pm to 10:30pm
NESFA Writes (virtual) A Maker Space for Making Fiction (or nonfiction) -8pm - 8:15pm - Group Chat -8:15 - 9pm - Breakout for Writing -9pm - 9:15pm - Group Chat -9:15 - 10pm - Breakout for Writing -10pm - 10:30pm(ish) - Group Chat
Wednesday, November 30, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Friday, December 2 - Sunday, December 4, 2022
Smofcon 38 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Friday, December 2, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Gun, with Occasional Music by Jonathan Lethem

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Saturday, December 3, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Sunday, December 4, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to 10:00pm
Game Day Join us for Board, Card, & Role Playing Games at the NESFA Clubhouse! Bring your own games or play from our collection. We will happily teach games! Proof of COVID vaccination is required. Attendance will be limited. RSVP is required: gaming-coordinator@nesfa.org (Note: This is a mask-optional event.) At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 5, 2022
Dumpster emptying At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 5, 2022 • 8:00pm to 10:30pm
NESFA Writes (virtual) A Maker Space for Making Fiction (or nonfiction) -8pm - 8:15pm - Group Chat -8:15 - 9pm - Breakout for Writing -9pm - 9:15pm - Group Chat -9:15 - 10pm - Breakout for Writing -10pm - 10:30pm(ish) - Group Chat
Wednesday, December 7, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, December 10, 2022 • 6:00pm to 10:00pm
2022 Anime Review Session Join us as we take a look at the best anime of 2022 on our big screen. We'll be checking out the first episode or two of as many notable shows from the past year as possible as we make plans for 2023. At the clubhouse.
Saturday, December 10, 2022 • 1:00pm to 6:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Sunday, December 11, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at Noon. The NESFA business meeting will follow, no earlier than 2PM.

These meetings will be held online.

Monday, December 12, 2022 • 8:00pm to 10:30pm
NESFA Writes (virtual) A Maker Space for Making Fiction (or nonfiction) -8pm - 8:15pm - Group Chat -8:15 - 9pm - Breakout for Writing -9pm - 9:15pm - Group Chat -9:15 - 10pm - Breakout for Writing -10pm - 10:30pm(ish) - Group Chat
Wednesday, December 14, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, December 17, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Sunday, December 18, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to 10:00pm
Game Day Join us for Board, Card, & Role Playing Games at the NESFA Clubhouse! Bring your own games or play from our collection. We will happily teach games! Proof of COVID vaccination is required. We are masking indoors. Attendance will be limited. RSVP is required: gaming-coordinator@nesfa.org (Note that is a mask required event.) At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 19, 2022
Dumpster emptying At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, December 20, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Somerville Sci-Fi/Fantasy Reading Group Book: The Buried Giant by Kazuo Ishiguro

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid if we return to the Clubhouse.

Wednesday, December 21, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, December 24, 2022 • 2:00pm to 6:00pm
Open library hours (masks optional) At the clubhouse.
Saturday, December 24, 2022 • 6:00pm to 10:00pm
Winter Fest! (masks optional) Join us in watching the best-worst Winter Holiday movies! At the clubhouse.
Sunday, December 25, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to 10:00pm
Bah-Humbug! (masks optional) Join us for Board, Card, & Role Playing Games at the NESFA Clubhouse! Bring your own games or play from our collection. We will happily teach games! RSVP is required: gaming-coordinator@nesfa.org At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 26, 2022 • 8:00pm to 10:30pm
NESFA Writes (virtual) A Maker Space for Making Fiction (or nonfiction) -8pm - 8:15pm - Group Chat -8:15 - 9pm - Breakout for Writing -9pm - 9:15pm - Group Chat -9:15 - 10pm - Breakout for Writing -10pm - 10:30pm(ish) - Group Chat
Wednesday, December 28, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Monday, January 2, 2023
Dumpster emptying At the clubhouse.
Friday, January 6, 2023 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Braking Day by Adam Oyebanji

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Sunday, January 8, 2023 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at Noon. The NESFA business meeting will follow, no earlier than 2PM.

These meetings will be held online.

Friday, January 13 - Monday, January 16, 2023
Arisia 2023 Another New England SF convention at the Westin Boston Seaport District, Boston, MA
Monday, January 16, 2023
Dumpster emptying At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, January 17, 2023 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Somerville Sci-Fi/Fantasy Reading Group Book: The Calculating Stars by Mary Robinette Kowal

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid if we return to the Clubhouse.

Monday, January 30, 2023
Dumpster emptying At the clubhouse.
Friday, February 3, 2023 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Engine Summer by John Crowley

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Sunday, February 5, 2023 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at Noon. The NESFA business meeting will follow, no earlier than 2PM.

These meetings will be held online.

Saturday, February 11, 2023 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone work session Weekend work session in preparation for Boskone. (First half.) At the clubhouse.
Sunday, February 12, 2023 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone work session Weekend work session in preparation for Boskone. (Second half.) At the clubhouse.
Monday, February 13, 2023
Dumpster emptying At the clubhouse.
Friday, February 17 - Sunday, February 19, 2023
Boskone 60 Westin Boston Seaport District
Guest of Honor: Nalo Hopkinson
Official Artist: Victo Ngai
Special Guest: Tui T. Sutherland
Musical Guest: Dave Clement
Tuesday, February 21, 2023 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Somerville Sci-Fi/Fantasy Reading Group Book: Uprooted by Naomi Novik

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid if we return to the Clubhouse.

Monday, February 27, 2023
Dumpster emptying At the clubhouse.
Sunday, March 12, 2023 • 2:00am to 3:00am
beginning of daylight saving time 2 am EST, beginning of daylight saving time; set clocks forward to 3 am EDT.
Sunday, March 12, 2023 • 1:00pm to 5:00pm
Boskone 60 Debriefing Debriefing the Boskone we ran three weeks ago.
It isn't yet clear whether the meeting will be held over Zoom, at the clubhouse, or in a hybrid format.
Sunday, March 19, 2023 • 2:00pm to whenever
NESFA Business Meeting The NESFA business meeting will start at 2PM

It isn't yet clear whether this will be held on Zoom, at the clubhouse, or in a hybrid format.

Friday, April 21 - Monday, April 24, 2023
Costume-Con 39 in San Jose, CA
Friday, May 26 - Monday, May 29, 2023
Balticon 57 in Baltimore, MD
Friday, May 26 - Sunday, May 28, 2023
Anime North in Toronto, ON, Canada
Thursday, July 20 - Sunday, July 23, 2023
NASFiC 2023: Pemmi-con 2023 Pemmi-con 2023 - The 15th North American Science Fiction Convention, 20-23 July 2023 at the Delta Hotels Winnipeg and the RBC Convention Centre, Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Wednesday, August 16 - Sunday, August 20, 2023
81st World Science Fiction Convention in Chengdu, China
Friday, September 29, 2023 - Sunday, October 1, 2023
Capclave in Rockville, MD.
Friday, October 13 - Sunday, October 15, 2023
MCFI Relaxacon in Dennisport, MA at the Corsair and Cross Rip Hotels
Sunday, November 5, 2023 • 2:00am to 3:00am
end of daylight saving time 2 am EDT, end of daylight saving time; change clocks backward to 1 am EST.
Sunday, March 10, 2024 • 2:00am to 3:00am
beginning of daylight saving time 2 am EST, beginning of daylight saving time; set clocks forward to 3 am EDT.
Monday, April 8, 2024
solar eclipse Totality will be visible in parts of New England (northern Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine), weather permitting
Thursday, August 8 - Monday, August 12, 2024
Glasgow 2024 The 82nd World Science Fiction Convention (Worldcon) at the Scottish Events Campus (SEC) in Glasgow, Scotland from August 8-12, 2024.
Sunday, November 3, 2024 • 2:00am to 3:00am
end of daylight saving time 2 am EDT, end of daylight saving time; change clocks backward to 1 am EST.