Menu Menu

Events

NESFA events are canceled until further notice because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

NESFA events are highlighted like this. Non-NESFA events at the clubhouse are highlighted like this. Extraordinary and exceptional events, dates, and reminders are highlighted like this.

Please report any errors, and any relevant events which are not listed but are in or near New England or otherwise of interest to NESFA members, to calendar@nesfa.org.

In addition to the activities listed here, some NESFA members gather at the clubhouse almost every Wednesday evening to work, socialize, and play games (often Dominion). The building is almost always open between 6 pm and 10 pm on Wednesday evenings, and often later.  When the weather is inclement, please call 617-625-2311 to make sure that there are people at the clubhouse before showing up.

The dumpster will be emptied every two weeks on Mondays (except on Tuesday when Monday is a holiday).

Please leave a clear path to the dumpster, and plenty of clear space around it on pickup days.

In 2020, upcoming dumpster pickup dates are  Mar 2, 16 & 30, Apr 13 & 27, May 11 & 26, June 8 & 22.

The clubhouse will be cleaned by professional cleaners on the first Friday of every month.

Please schedule your activities so as not to interfere with their work.

In 2020, upcoming clubhouse cleaning dates are Mar 6, Apr 3, May 1, Jun 5.


Filter By:

Friday, June 5, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group (online) Book: Cat's Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut At present, the plans are to hold this meeting online.
Monday, June 8, 2020 • 6:30pm to 9:30pm
NESFA Writes (Meeting Virtually) A Maker Space for Making Fiction. Meeting Virtually https://discord.gg/JZn2aXK
Friday, June 12 - Sunday, June 14, 2020
AnimeNEXT 2020 (canceled) in Atlantic City, NJ
Sunday, June 14, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings (virtual) noon and 2 pm, respectively This meeting will be held online.
Monday, June 15, 2020 • 6:30pm to 9:30pm
NESFA Writes (Meeting Virtually) A Maker Space for Making Fiction. Meeting Virtually https://discord.gg/JZn2aXK
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Two books: The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by Djèlí Clark & Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire.

This meeting may be held online because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Friday, June 19 - Sunday, June 21, 2020
Fourth Street Fantasy (postponed to 2021) in St. Louis Park, MN
Monday, June 22, 2020 • 6:30pm to 9:30pm
NESFA Writes (Meeting Virtually) A Maker Space for Making Fiction. Meeting Virtually https://discord.gg/JZn2aXK
Thursday, June 25 - Sunday, June 28, 2020
PortConMaine 2020 (canceled) in Portland, ME
Monday, June 29, 2020 • 6:30pm to 9:30pm
NESFA Writes (Meeting Virtually) A Maker Space for Making Fiction. Meeting Virtually https://discord.gg/JZn2aXK
Thursday, July 2 - Sunday, July 5, 2020
Anthrocon 2020 (canceled) in Pittsburgh, PA
Friday, July 3 - Sunday, July 5, 2020
InConJunction (postponed to 2021) in Indianapolis, IN
Friday, July 3 - Sunday, July 5, 2020
Northeast Filk Convention (canceled) There are plans for online event. See website for details.
Friday, July 3, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Hammers on Bone by Cassandra Khaw

This meeting may be held online. At the clubhouse.

Monday, July 6, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (Location TBD) A Maker Space for Making Fiction Location TBD
Thursday, July 9 - Sunday, July 12, 2020
ConnectiCon XVIII in Hartford, CT
Thursday, July 9 - Sunday, July 12, 2020
Readercon 31 (postponed to 2021) in Quincy, MA
Friday, July 10 - Sunday, July 12, 2020
Shore Leave (postponed to 2021) in Hunt Valley, MD
Sunday, July 12, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings (virtual) noon and 2 pm, respectively This meeting will be held online.
Monday, July 13, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (Location TBD) A Maker Space for Making Fiction Location TBD
Friday, July 17 - Sunday, July 19, 2020
ConGregate 2020 (canceled) in Winston-Salem, NC
Monday, July 20, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (Location TBD) A Maker Space for Making Fiction Location TBD
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: The City in the Middle of the Night by Charlie Jane Anders At the clubhouse.
Thursday, July 23 - Sunday, July 26, 2020
Comic-Con International 2020: San Diego (canceled) in San Diego, CA
Friday, July 24 - Sunday, July 26, 2020
Confluence (postponed to 2021) in Pittsburgh, PA
Monday, July 27, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (Location TBD) A Maker Space for Making Fiction Location TBD
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 - Sunday, August 2, 2020
CoNZealand (online) the 78th World Science Fiction Convention. It has been decided to make CoNZealand an online convention. Please see their website for more details.
Friday, July 31, 2020 - Sunday, August 2, 2020
Otakon (canceled) in Washington, DC
Friday, August 7 - Sunday, August 9, 2020
FanExpo Boston (postponed to 2021) in Boston, MA
Sunday, August 9, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings noon and 2 pm, respectively This meeting may be held online.
Saturday, August 15, 2020
ReCONvene 2020 first NESFA virtual convention
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Cloud Roads by Martha Wells At the clubhouse.
Friday, August 28 - Sunday, August 30, 2020
Bubonicon 52 (postponed to 2021) in Albuquerque, NM
Thursday, September 3 - Monday, September 7, 2020
Dragon Con in Atlanta, GA
Monday, September 7, 2020 • 3:00pm to 7:30pm
NESFA Picnic at The Shelter (a covered area with 6 grills and 8 tables) at Larz Anderson Park in Brookline.

Note that neither dogs nor hibachis are allowed in this area.

All fans are welcome. NESFA will provide the basics: hamburgers, hot dogs, buns, condiments, and fire; bring something to share.

There is a link for directions to the park on the same webpage.

Sunday, September 13, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings noon and 2 pm, respectively
Tuesday, September 15, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Vast by Linda Nagata At the clubhouse.
Friday, September 18 - Sunday, September 20, 2020
FenCon XVII in Irving (DWF airport), TX.
Saturday, September 19 - Sunday, September 20, 2020
Granite State Comicon in Manchester, NH
Thursday, October 15 - Sunday, October 18, 2020
Bouchercon 2020 (canceled) in Sacramento, California
Friday, October 16 - Sunday, October 18, 2020
Capclave 2020 in Rockville, MD.
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, October 21 - Sunday, October 25, 2020
IlluxCon in Reading, PA.
Thursday, October 29, 2020 - Sunday, November 1, 2020
World Fantasy Convention 2020 in Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, October 30, 2020 - Sunday, November 1, 2020
DerpyCon 2020 in New Brunswick, NJ
Friday, November 6 - Sunday, November 8, 2020
Rhode Island Comic Con in Providence, RI
Friday, November 6 - Sunday, November 8, 2020
Baycon 2020 in San Mateo, CA. Dates have changed.
Friday, November 20 - Sunday, November 22, 2020
Philcon in Cherry Hill, NJ.
Friday, February 12 - Sunday, February 14, 2021
Boskone 58 at the Westin Waterfront in Boston, MA
Thursday, June 17 - Sunday, June 20, 2021
Fourth Street Fantasy in St. Louis Park, MN
Friday, June 18 - Sunday, June 20, 2021
Northeast Filk Convention
Thursday, June 24 - Sunday, June 27, 2021
PortConMaine 2021 in Portland, ME
Friday, July 9 - Sunday, July 11, 2021
Readercon 31 in Quincy, MA
Friday, July 9 - Sunday, July 11, 2021
Shore Leave in Hunt Valley, MD
Friday, July 9 - Sunday, July 11, 2021
ConGregate 2021 in Winston-Salem, NC
Friday, July 23 - Sunday, July 25, 2021
Confluence in Pittsburgh, PA
Friday, August 6 - Sunday, August 8, 2021
Otakon in Washington, DC
Friday, August 6 - Sunday, August 8, 2021
FanExpo Boston in Boston, MA
Friday, August 20 - Sunday, August 22, 2021
Bubonicon in Albuquerque, NM
Wednesday, August 25 - Sunday, August 29, 2021
DisCon III the 79th World Science Fiction Convention, in Washington, DC, USA
Thursday, November 4 - Sunday, November 7, 2021
World Fantasy Convention 2021 in Montréal, ON, Canada.