Menu Menu

Events

NESFA events are canceled until further notice because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

NESFA events are highlighted like this. Non-NESFA events at the clubhouse are highlighted like this. Extraordinary and exceptional events, dates, and reminders are highlighted like this.

Please report any errors, and any relevant events which are not listed but are in or near New England or otherwise of interest to NESFA members, to calendar@nesfa.org.

In addition to the activities listed here, some NESFA members gather at the clubhouse almost every Wednesday evening to work, socialize, and play games (often Dominion). The building is almost always open between 6 pm and 10 pm on Wednesday evenings, and often later.  When the weather is inclement, please call 617-625-2311 to make sure that there are people at the clubhouse before showing up.

The dumpster will be emptied every two weeks on Mondays (except on Tuesday when Monday is a holiday).

Please leave a clear path to the dumpster, and plenty of clear space around it on pickup days.

In 2020, upcoming dumpster pickup dates are  Mar 2, 16 & 30, Apr 13 & 27, May 11 & 26, June 8 & 22.

The clubhouse will be cleaned by professional cleaners on the first Friday of every month.

Please schedule your activities so as not to interfere with their work.

In 2020, upcoming clubhouse cleaning dates are Mar 6, Apr 3, May 1, Jun 5.


Filter By:

Monday, March 30, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes canceled A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, April 1, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
Nominations Committee interviews (canceled); Regular members who have not been interviewed will be contacted by email In the Flynn room. Times are approximate. You are encouraged to review and circle your interests on the NESFA Positions and Boskone Positions sheets. At the clubhouse.
Friday, April 3 - Sunday, April 5, 2020
HELIOsphere 2020 canceled in Tarrytown, NY
Friday, April 3, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group canceled Book: The Light Brigade by Kameron Hurley (Will be discussed on May 1st) At the clubhouse.
Monday, April 6, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes canceled A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, April 8, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
Nominations Committee interviews (canceled); Regular members who have not been interviewed will be contacted by email In the Flynn room. Times are approximate. You are encouraged to review and circle your interests on the NESFA Positions and Boskone Positions sheets. At the clubhouse.
Friday, April 10 - Sunday, April 12, 2020
Anime Boston canceled in Boston, MA.
Friday, April 10 - Monday, April 13, 2020
Concentric: Eastercon 2020 (canceled) in Birmingham, UK
Friday, April 10 - Sunday, April 12, 2020
Minicon 55 (canceled) in St Louis Park, MN.
Saturday, April 11, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to Midnight
Game Day canceled At the clubhouse.
Monday, April 13, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes canceled A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Saturday, April 18, 2020 • 2:00pm to 10:00pm
Media Day canceled At the clubhouse.
Sunday, April 19, 2020 • 2:00pm to whenever
NESFA Business Meeting (tentative) This meeting may be canceled, postponed or held online because of the COVID-19 pandemic.
Monday, April 20, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir.

This meeting may be held online because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Friday, April 24 - Sunday, April 26, 2020
RavenCon (canceled) in Williamsburg, VA
Friday, April 24 - Sunday, April 26, 2020
FILKONtario 30 (canceled) in Markham, ON, Canada
Saturday, April 25, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to Midnight
Game Day (canceled) At the clubhouse.
Sunday, April 26, 2020 • 1:00pm to whenever
Library Work session (canceled) Continue the usual cleanup, cataloging, and shelving projects. At the clubhouse.
Monday, April 27, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, April 29, 2020 • 7:00pm to 9:00pm
IM collation (canceled) Collate, fold, seal and label the April Business meeting's IM. At the clubhouse.
Friday, May 1, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group (canceled) Book: The Light Brigade by Kameron Hurley At the clubhouse.
Monday, May 4, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Friday, May 8 - Sunday, May 10, 2020
Marcon (canceled) in Columbus, OH.
Sunday, May 10, 2020 • 2:00pm to whenever
Annual Meeting This meeting may be postponed or held online because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

At the clubhouse.

Monday, May 11, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Friday, May 15 - Sunday, May 17, 2020
Nauticon (canceled) in Provincetown, MA.
Monday, May 18, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Hyperion by Dan Simmons.

This meeting may be held online because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Wednesday, May 20, 2020 • 7:00pm to 9:00pm
IM collation (canceled) Collate, fold, seal and label the May Annual Business meeting's IM. At the clubhouse.
Friday, May 22 - Monday, May 25, 2020
Balticon 54 (virtual) The Baltimore Science Fiction Society (BSFS) plans to run a Virtual Balticon over Memorial Day weekend. Please see the website for details.
Friday, May 22 - Monday, May 25, 2020
WisCon 44 (canceled) in Madison, WI. An online event is being worked on.
Friday, May 22 - Sunday, May 24, 2020
ConQuesT 51 (canceled) in Kansas City, MO.
Friday, May 22 - Sunday, May 24, 2020
Anime North (canceled) in Toronto, ON, Canada
Monday, May 25, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Friday, May 29 - Sunday, May 31, 2020
ConCarolinas in Charlotte, NC
Friday, May 29 - Sunday, May 31, 2020
Arisia Relaxacon in Dennisport, MA
Monday, June 1, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Friday, June 5, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group (canceled) Book: Cat's Cradle by Kurt Vonnegut At the clubhouse.
Monday, June 8, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Friday, June 12 - Sunday, June 14, 2020
AnimeNEXT 2020 in Atlantic City, NJ
Monday, June 15, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, June 16, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Two books: The Haunting of Tram Car 015 by Djèlí Clark & Every Heart a Doorway by Seanan McGuire.

This meeting may be held online because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

Friday, June 19 - Sunday, June 21, 2020
Fourth Street Fantasy in St. Louis Park, MN
Monday, June 22, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Thursday, June 25 - Sunday, June 28, 2020
PortConMaine 2020 in Portland, ME
Monday, June 29, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes (canceled) A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Thursday, July 2 - Sunday, July 5, 2020
Anthrocon 2020 in Pittsburgh, PA
Friday, July 3 - Sunday, July 5, 2020
InConJunction in Indianapolis, IN
Friday, July 3 - Sunday, July 5, 2020
Northeast Filk Convention in Danbury, CT
Friday, July 3, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Hammers on Bone by Cassandra Khaw At the clubhouse.
Monday, July 6, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Thursday, July 9 - Sunday, July 12, 2020
ConnectiCon XVIII in Hartford, CT
Thursday, July 9 - Sunday, July 12, 2020
Readercon 31 in Quincy, MA
Friday, July 10 - Sunday, July 12, 2020
Shore Leave in Hunt Valley, MD
Monday, July 13, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Friday, July 17 - Sunday, July 19, 2020
ConGregate 2020 in Winston-Salem, NC
Monday, July 20, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, July 21, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: The City in the Middle of the Night by Charlie Jane Anders At the clubhouse.
Thursday, July 23 - Sunday, July 26, 2020
Comic-Con International 2020: San Diego in San Diego, CA
Friday, July 24 - Sunday, July 26, 2020
Confluence in Pittsburgh, PA
Monday, July 27, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 - Sunday, August 2, 2020
CoNZealand the 78th World Science Fiction Convention, in Wellington, New Zealand.
Friday, July 31, 2020 - Sunday, August 2, 2020
Otakon in Washington, DC
Friday, August 7 - Sunday, August 9, 2020
FanExpo Boston in Boston, MA
Tuesday, August 18, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Cloud Roads by Martha Wells At the clubhouse.
Friday, August 28 - Sunday, August 30, 2020
Bubonicon 52 in Albuquerque, NM
Thursday, September 3 - Monday, September 7, 2020
Dragon Con in Atlanta, GA
Monday, September 7, 2020 • 3:00pm to 7:30pm
NESFA Picnic at The Shelter (a covered area with 6 grills and 8 tables) at Larz Anderson Park in Brookline.

Note that neither dogs nor hibachis are allowed in this area.

All fans are welcome. NESFA will provide the basics: hamburgers, hot dogs, buns, condiments, and fire; bring something to share.

There is a link for directions to the park on the same webpage.

Tuesday, September 15, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Vast by Linda Nagata At the clubhouse.
Friday, September 18 - Sunday, September 20, 2020
FenCon XVII in Irving (DWF airport), TX.
Saturday, September 19 - Sunday, September 20, 2020
Granite State Comicon in Manchester, NH
Thursday, October 15 - Sunday, October 18, 2020
Bouchercon 2020 in Sacramento, California
Friday, October 16 - Sunday, October 18, 2020
Capclave 2020 in Rockville, MD.
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, October 21 - Sunday, October 25, 2020
IlluxCon in Reading, PA.
Thursday, October 29, 2020 - Sunday, November 1, 2020
World Fantasy Convention 2020 in Salt Lake City, UT
Friday, October 30, 2020 - Sunday, November 1, 2020
DerpyCon 2020 in New Brunswick, NJ
Friday, November 6 - Sunday, November 8, 2020
Rhode Island Comic Con in Providence, RI
Friday, November 6 - Sunday, November 8, 2020
Baycon 2020 in San Mateo, CA. Dates have changed.
Friday, November 20 - Sunday, November 22, 2020
Philcon in Cherry Hill, NJ.
Friday, February 12 - Sunday, February 14, 2021
Boskone 58 at the Westin Waterfront in Boston, MA
Wednesday, August 25 - Sunday, August 29, 2021
DisCon III the 79th World Science Fiction Convention, in Washington, DC, USA
Thursday, November 4 - Sunday, November 7, 2021
World Fantasy Convention 2021 in Montréal, ON, Canada.