Menu Menu

Events

NESFA events are highlighted like this. Non-NESFA events at the clubhouse are highlighted like this. Extraordinary and exceptional events, dates, and reminders are highlighted like this.

Please report any errors, and any relevant events which are not listed but are in or near New England or otherwise of interest to NESFA members, to calendar@nesfa.org.

In addition to the activities listed here, some NESFA members gather at the clubhouse almost every Wednesday evening to work, socialize, and play games (often Dominion). The building is almost always open between 6 pm and 10 pm on Wednesday evenings, and often later.  When the weather is inclement, please call 617-625-2311 to make sure that there are people at the clubhouse before showing up.

The dumpster will be emptied every two weeks on Mondays (except on Tuesday when Monday is a holiday).

Please leave a clear path to the dumpster, and plenty of clear space around it on pickup days.

Upcoming dumpster pickup dates are Sep 16 & 30, Oct 14 & 28, Nov 11 & 25 and Dec 9 & 23 in 2019.  In 2020, there will be dumpster pickups on Jan 6 & 21, Feb 3 & 18, Mar 2, 16 & 30.

The clubhouse will be cleaned by professional cleaners on the first Friday of every month.

Please schedule your activities so as not to interfere with their work.

Upcoming clubhouse cleaning dates are Sep 6, Oct 4, Nov 1 and Dec 6 in 2019. In 2020, there will be clubhouse cleaning on Jan 3, Feb 7, Mar 6.


Filter By:

Saturday, November 16, 2019 • 12:00 Noon to Midnight
Game Day At the clubhouse.
Saturday, November 16, 2019 • 6:00pm to 7:00pm
Deadline for Nominations for the Skylark Award
Sunday, November 17, 2019 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings 1pm and 2 pm, respectively At the clubhouse.
Monday, November 18, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, November 19, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Use of Weapons by Iain M. Banks At the clubhouse.
Saturday, November 23, 2019 • 2:00pm to 5:00pm
MCFI Meeting also with GotoMeeting At the clubhouse.
Monday, November 25, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, November 27, 2019 • 7:00pm to 9:00pm
IM collation Tentative. May be moved to avoid holiday. At the clubhouse.
Friday, November 29, 2019 - Sunday, December 1, 2019
Loscon in Los Angeles, CA.
Friday, November 29, 2019 - Sunday, December 1, 2019
Chessiecon 2019 in Timonium, MD
Saturday, November 30, 2019 • 10:00am to Midnight
Turkey Fest Movie Days At the clubhouse.
Sunday, December 1, 2019 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Turkey Fest Movie Days continued At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 2, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Friday, December 6, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: The Pride of Chanur by C. J. Cherryh At the clubhouse.
Friday, December 6 - Sunday, December 8, 2019
Smofcon 37 in Albuquerque, NM
Sunday, December 8, 2019 • 12:00 Noon to 5:00pm
Arisia Book Swap event At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 9, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Saturday, December 14, 2019 • 12:00 Noon to Midnight
Game Day At the clubhouse.
Sunday, December 15, 2019 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings 1pm and 2 pm, respectively At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 16, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, December 17, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: The Blue Sword by Robin McKinley At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 23, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 • 2:00pm to Midnight
Bah Humbug Game Day Please remember to bring your own food because almost all restaurants in the neighborhood will be closed on this day. At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, December 25, 2019 • 7:00pm to 9:00pm
IM collation Tentative. May be moved to avoid holiday. At the clubhouse.
Saturday, December 28, 2019 • 2:00pm to whenever
Media Day At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 30, 2019 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Writes A Maker Space for Making Fiction At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, December 31, 2019 • 8:00pm to Midnight
New Year’s Other Meeting — Location TBD
Friday, January 3, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Ubik by Phillip K. Dick At the clubhouse.
Saturday, January 4, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to Midnight
Game Day At the clubhouse.
Sunday, January 12, 2020 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings 1pm and 2 pm, respectively At the clubhouse.
Friday, January 17 - Sunday, January 19, 2020
MarsCon in Williamsburg, VA.
Friday, January 17 - Monday, January 20, 2020
Arisia 2020 in Boston, MA.
Tuesday, January 21, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Embassytown by China Miéville At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, January 22, 2020 • 7:00pm to 9:00pm
IM collation At the clubhouse.
Sunday, February 2, 2020 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings 1pm and 2 pm (maybe a bit later), respectively At the clubhouse.
Friday, February 7, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: The City of Brass by S. A. Chakraborty At the clubhouse.
Sunday, February 9, 2020 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone Work Session Whatever is needed for Boskone -- usually at least Area logistics preparations and badge lamination. At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, February 12, 2020 • 6:00pm to whenever
Truck Loading Emptying the clubhouse into a truck. At the clubhouse.
Thursday, February 13, 2020 • 3:00pm to whenever
Truck Unloading at the Hotel Emptying the truck into the Westin. (Could start after 3PM, depending on the Westin.)
Friday, February 14 - Sunday, February 16, 2020
Boskone 57 at the Westin Waterfront in Boston, MA
Friday, February 14 - Sunday, February 16, 2020
Katsucon 2020 in National Harbor, MD
Sunday, February 16, 2020 • 3:00pm to whenever
Truck Loading at Hotel Emptying Boskone 57 into a truck.
Monday, February 17, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Truck Unloading This time varies based on availability of primary helpers. Call the clubhouse to find out when and if you should come help. At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, February 18, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Gideon the Ninth by Tamsyn Muir At the clubhouse.
Thursday, February 20 - Sunday, February 23, 2020
Anthro New England in Boston, MA
Thursday, February 20 - Sunday, February 23, 2020
TotalCon in Marlborough, MA
Friday, February 21 - Sunday, February 23, 2020
Farpoint 27 in Hunt Valley, MD
Sunday, March 1, 2020 • 1:00pm to 6:00pm
Boskone 57 Debriefing Debriefing the Boskone we ran two weeks before. (Tentative date.) At the clubhouse.
Friday, March 6, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: TBD At the clubhouse.
Sunday, March 8, 2020 • 2:00am to 3:00am
beginning of daylight saving time 2 am EST, beginning of daylight saving time; set clocks forward to 3 am EDT.
Friday, March 13 - Monday, March 16, 2020
Costume-Con 38 in Montréal, ON, Canada.
Tuesday, March 17, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: TBD At the clubhouse.
Friday, April 3 - Sunday, April 5, 2020
HELIOsphere 2020
Friday, April 3, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: TBD At the clubhouse.
Friday, April 10 - Sunday, April 12, 2020
Anime Boston in Boston, MA.
Friday, April 10 - Monday, April 13, 2020
Concentric: Eastercon 2020 in Birmingham, UK
Tuesday, April 21, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: TBD At the clubhouse.
Friday, April 24 - Sunday, April 26, 2020
RavenCon in Williamsburg, VA
Friday, May 1, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: TBD At the clubhouse.
Friday, May 8 - Sunday, May 10, 2020
Marcon in Columbus, OH.
Friday, May 15 - Sunday, May 17, 2020
Nauticon in Provincetown, MA.
Tuesday, May 19, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: TBD At the clubhouse.
Friday, May 22 - Monday, May 25, 2020
Balticon 54 in Baltimore, MD
Friday, May 22 - Monday, May 25, 2020
WisCon 44 in Madison, WI
Friday, June 19 - Sunday, June 21, 2020
Fourth Street Fantasy in St. Louis Park, MN
Thursday, June 25 - Sunday, June 28, 2020
PortConMaine 2020 in Portland, ME
Thursday, July 2 - Sunday, July 5, 2020
Anthrocon 2020 in Pittsburgh, PA
Thursday, July 9 - Sunday, July 12, 2020
ConnectiCon XVIII in Hartford, CT
Friday, July 17 - Sunday, July 19, 2020
ConGregate 2020 in Winston-Salem, NC
Wednesday, July 29, 2020 - Sunday, August 2, 2020
CoNZealand the 78th World Science Fiction Convention, in Wellington, New Zealand.
Friday, July 31, 2020 - Sunday, August 2, 2020
Otakon in Washington, DC
Thursday, October 29, 2020 - Sunday, November 1, 2020
World Fantasy Convention 2020 in Salt Lake City, UT
Thursday, November 4 - Sunday, November 7, 2021
World Fantasy Convention 2021 in Montréal, ON, Canada.