Menu Menu

Events

NESFA events are canceled until further notice because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

NESFA events are highlighted like this. Non-NESFA events at the clubhouse are highlighted like this. Extraordinary and exceptional events, dates, and reminders are highlighted like this.

Please report any errors, and any relevant events which are not listed but are in or near New England or otherwise of interest to NESFA members, to calendar@nesfa.org.

In addition to the activities listed here, some NESFA members gather at the clubhouse almost every Wednesday evening to work, socialize, and play games (often Dominion). The building is almost always open between 6 pm and 10 pm on Wednesday evenings, and often later.  When the weather is inclement, please call 617-625-2311 to make sure that there are people at the clubhouse before showing up.

The dumpster will be emptied every two weeks on Mondays (except on Tuesday when Monday is a holiday).

Please leave a clear path to the dumpster, and plenty of clear space around it on pickup days.

In 2021, upcoming dumpster emptying dates are Jun 21, Tuesday Jul 6, Jul 19, Aug 2, Aug 16, Aug 30, Sep 13, Sep 27, Oct 11, Oct 25, Nov 8, Nov 22, Dec 6, and Dec 20.

The clubhouse will be cleaned by professional cleaners on the first Friday of every month until further notice.

Please schedule your activities so as not to interfere with their work.

In 2021, upcoming clubhouse cleaning dates are Jul 2, Aug 6, Sep 3, Oct 1, Nov 5, and Dec 3.

 


Filter By:

Saturday, November 27, 2021 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Monday, November 29, 2021 • 8:00pm to 10:30pm
NESFA Writes (virtual) A Maker Space for Making Fiction (or nonfiction) -8pm - 8:15pm - Group Chat -8:15 - 9pm - Breakout for Writing -9pm - 9:15pm - Group Chat -9:15 - 10pm - Breakout for Writing -10pm - 10:30pm(ish) - Group Chat
Wednesday, December 1, 2021 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Friday, December 3 - Sunday, December 5, 2021
SMOFCon Europe in Lisboa, Portugal
Friday, December 3, 2021 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Cat Country by Lao She

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Saturday, December 4 - Sunday, December 5, 2021
Technical work session Gear will be checked and arranged for loan to Discon3 by those working for that convention. Unless needed, please avoid the clubhouse on this weekend. At the clubhouse.
Sunday, December 5, 2021 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at 1PM. The NESFA business meeting will follow at about 3PM

These meetings will be held online.

Monday, December 6, 2021 • 8:00pm to 10:30pm
NESFA Writes (virtual) A Maker Space for Making Fiction (or nonfiction) -8pm - 8:15pm - Group Chat -8:15 - 9pm - Breakout for Writing -9pm - 9:15pm - Group Chat -9:15 - 10pm - Breakout for Writing -10pm - 10:30pm(ish) - Group Chat
Wednesday, December 8, 2021 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Friday, December 10, 2021 • 1:00pm to 4:00pm
Discon truck loading (talk to Rick Kovalcik) Packing up for Discon3
Saturday, December 11, 2021 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 13, 2021 • 8:00pm to 10:30pm
NESFA Writes (virtual) A Maker Space for Making Fiction (or nonfiction) -8pm - 8:15pm - Group Chat -8:15 - 9pm - Breakout for Writing -9pm - 9:15pm - Group Chat -9:15 - 10pm - Breakout for Writing -10pm - 10:30pm(ish) - Group Chat
Wednesday, December 15 - Sunday, December 19, 2021
DisCon III the 79th World Science Fiction Convention, in Washington, DC, USA
Wednesday, December 15, 2021 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, December 18, 2021 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Monday, December 20, 2021 • 8:00pm to 10:30pm
NESFA Writes (virtual) A Maker Space for Making Fiction (or nonfiction) -8pm - 8:15pm - Group Chat -8:15 - 9pm - Breakout for Writing -9pm - 9:15pm - Group Chat -9:15 - 10pm - Breakout for Writing -10pm - 10:30pm(ish) - Group Chat
Tuesday, December 21, 2021 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Somerville Sci-Fi/Fantasy Reading Group Book: Gardens of the Moon by Steven Erikson

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid if we return to the Clubhouse.

Wednesday, December 22, 2021 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, December 29, 2021 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Sunday, January 2, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at noon. The NESFA business meeting will follow at about 2PM

These meetings will be held online.

Friday, January 7, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: The Old Axolotl by Jacek Dukaj

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Friday, January 14 - Monday, January 17, 2022
Arisia 2022
Tuesday, January 18, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Somerville Sci-Fi/Fantasy Reading Group Book: Project Hail Mary by Andy Weir

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid if we return to the Clubhouse.

Friday, February 4, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Machinehood by S.B. Divya

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Sunday, February 6, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at noon. The NESFA business meeting will follow at about 2PM

These meetings will be held online.

Saturday, February 12, 2022 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone work session Weekend work session in preparation for Boskone. At the clubhouse.
Sunday, February 13, 2022 • 1:00pm to whenever
Boskone work session Weekend work session in preparation for Boskone. At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, February 15, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Somerville Sci-Fi/Fantasy Reading Group Book: The Last Wish by Andrzej Sapkowski

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid if we return to the Clubhouse.

Wednesday, February 16, 2022 • 6:00pm
Truck Loading at Clubhouse Start time is not set, but we usually start around 6PM. At the clubhouse.
Thursday, February 17, 2022 • 3:00pm to 8:00pm
Truck Unloading at the Hotel Emptying the truck into the Westin for Boskone setup. We usually start around 3PM and take 5 or 6 hours.
Friday, February 18 - Sunday, February 20, 2022
Boskone 59
Sunday, February 20, 2022 • 3:00pm to 7:00pm
Truck Loading at Hotel Start time is not set, but it usually begins around 3PM and takes 4 or 5 hours. At the clubhouse.
Monday, February 21, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to 5:00pm
Truck Unloading This time varies based on availability of primary helpers. In the past it has started around Noon. Call the clubhouse to find out when and if you should come help. At the clubhouse.
Thursday, February 24 - Sunday, February 27, 2022
Intercon U in Warwick, RI
Friday, March 4, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Doomsday Book by Connie Willis

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Sunday, March 13, 2022 • 2:00am to 3:00am
beginning of daylight saving time 2 am EST, beginning of daylight saving time; set clocks forward to 3 am EDT.
Friday, April 1, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Blue Champagne by John Varley

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Friday, April 8 - Sunday, April 10, 2022
HELIOsphere in Tarrytown, NY
Friday, April 29, 2022 - Sunday, May 1, 2022
RavenCon in Glen Allen, VA
Friday, May 27 - Sunday, May 29, 2022
Anime Boston
Friday, May 27 - Sunday, May 29, 2022
Anime North in Toronto, ON, Canada
Friday, May 27 - Monday, May 30, 2022
Balticon 56 in Baltimore, MD
Thursday, September 1 - Monday, September 5, 2022
Chicon 8 the 80th World Science Fiction Convention, in Chicago, Illinois.
Friday, November 4 - Sunday, November 6, 2022
Astronomicon at RIT Inn and Conference Center, in Rochester, NY
Sunday, November 6, 2022 • 2:00am to 3:00am
end of daylight saving time 2 am EDT, end of daylight saving time; change clocks backward to 1 am EST.
Friday, December 2 - Sunday, December 4, 2022
Smofcon 38 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Friday, April 21 - Monday, April 24, 2023
Costume-Con 39 in San Jose, CA