Menu Menu

Events

NESFA events are canceled until further notice because of the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

NESFA events are highlighted like this. Non-NESFA events at the clubhouse are highlighted like this. Extraordinary and exceptional events, dates, and reminders are highlighted like this.

Please report any errors, and any relevant events which are not listed but are in or near New England or otherwise of interest to NESFA members, to calendar@nesfa.org.

In addition to the activities listed here, some NESFA members gather at the clubhouse almost every Wednesday evening to work, socialize, and play games (often Dominion). The building is almost always open between 6 pm and 10 pm on Wednesday evenings, and often later.  When the weather is inclement, please call 617-625-2311 to make sure that there are people at the clubhouse before showing up.

The dumpster will be emptied every two weeks on Mondays (except on Tuesday when Monday is a holiday).

Please leave a clear path to the dumpster, and plenty of clear space around it on pickup days.

In 2020, upcoming dumpster pickup dates are Jul 6 & 20, Aug 3, 17 & 31, Sep 14 & 28, Oct 12 & 26, Nov 9 & 23, Dec 7 & 21.

The clubhouse will be cleaned by professional cleaners on the first Friday of every month (except July in 2020).

Please schedule your activities so as not to interfere with their work.

In 2020, upcoming clubhouse cleaning dates are Jul 2, Aug 7, Sep 4, Oct 2, Nov 6, Dec 4.


Filter By:

Friday, October 2, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Ancestral Night by Elizabeth Bear

This meeting will be held online.

Sunday, October 11, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings noon and 2 pm, respectively

This meeting will be held online.

Thursday, October 15 - Sunday, October 18, 2020
Bouchercon 2020 (canceled) in Sacramento, California
Saturday, October 17 - Sunday, October 18, 2020
Capclave 2020 (virtual) The Capclave team has made the decision to be virtual this year. Please see the website for details.
Tuesday, October 20, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: The Ten Thousand Doors of January by Alix E. Harrow

This meeting may be held online.

Wednesday, October 21 - Sunday, October 25, 2020
IlluxCon (virtual) The in-person convention has been canceled. A series of webinars and a virtual art exhibition are planned.
Thursday, October 29, 2020 - Sunday, November 1, 2020
World Fantasy Convention 2020 (virtual) (Salt Lake City, UT) World Fantasy Convention will be online this year. Please see the website for more details.
Friday, October 30, 2020 - Sunday, November 1, 2020
DerpyCon online (virtual) DerpyCon 2020 will be held online this year.
Friday, November 6 - Sunday, November 8, 2020
Rhode Island Comic Con (canceled) in Providence, RI
Friday, November 6 - Sunday, November 8, 2020
Baycon 2020 in San Mateo, CA. Dates have changed.
Friday, November 6, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Scented Gardens for the Blind by Janet Frame

This meeting will be held online.

Sunday, November 8, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings noon and 2 pm, respectively

This meeting will be held online.

Tuesday, November 17, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Dark Matter by Blake Crouch

This meeting may be held online.

Friday, November 20 - Sunday, November 22, 2020
Philcon (virtual) Philcon 2020 will be switching to a virtual convention. Please see the website for details.
Friday, December 4, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: The Memory Police by Yoko Ogawa

This meeting will be held online.

Friday, December 4 - Sunday, December 6, 2020
Smofcon (virtual) SMOFCon 38 and SMOFCon Europe are in discussions for jointly organizing a limited series of online-only events on the weekend of December 4-6, 2020.
Sunday, December 13, 2020 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings noon and 2 pm, respectively

This meeting will be held online.

Tuesday, December 15, 2020 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: Lovecraft Country by Matt Ruff

This meeting may be held online.

Friday, January 15 - Monday, January 18, 2021
Arisia 2021 (virtual) Arisia 2021 will be a virtual convention.
Tuesday, January 19, 2021 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: A Memory Called Empire by Arkady Martine

This meeting may be held online.

Friday, February 12 - Sunday, February 14, 2021
Boskone 58 at the Westin Waterfront in Boston, MA
Tuesday, February 16, 2021 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Book Shop Sci-Fi/Fantasy Book Club Book: The Left-Handed Booksellers of London by Garth Nix

This meeting may be held online.

Thursday, February 18 - Sunday, February 21, 2021
TotalCon (virtual) The TotalCon Team has decided that TotalCon 35, coming next February 18-21, 2021 will be an all virtual event
Friday, February 19 - Sunday, February 21, 2021
Farpoint 28 in Hunt Valley, MD
Thursday, February 25 - Sunday, February 28, 2021
Anthro New England
Friday, February 26 - Sunday, February 28, 2021
Extracon 2021 (virtual replacement for Intercon) Extracon 2021 is an online event for the Intercon and New England Interactive Literature Community.
Friday, March 26 - Sunday, March 28, 2021
Corflu in Bristol, England
Friday, April 2 - Sunday, April 4, 2021
Anime Boston in Boston, MA.
Friday, April 2 - Monday, April 5, 2021
ConFusion: Eastercon in Birmingham, UK
Friday, April 9 - Sunday, April 11, 2021
HELIOsphere in Tarrytown, NY
Friday, April 16 - Sunday, April 18, 2021
RavenCon in Glen Allen, VA
Friday, April 23 - Monday, April 26, 2021
Costume-Con 39 in San Jose, CA
Friday, May 7 - Sunday, May 9, 2021
Marcon in Worthington, OH.
Friday, May 28 - Sunday, May 30, 2021
ConQuesT 52 in Kansas City, MO.
Friday, May 28 - Monday, May 31, 2021
Balticon 55 in Baltimore, MD
Friday, May 28 - Sunday, May 30, 2021
Anime North in Toronto, ON, Canada
Thursday, June 17 - Sunday, June 20, 2021
Fourth Street Fantasy in St. Louis Park, MN
Friday, June 18 - Sunday, June 20, 2021
Northeast Filk Convention
Friday, June 18 - Sunday, June 20, 2021
Rhode Island Comic Con in Providence, RI
Thursday, June 24 - Sunday, June 27, 2021
PortConMaine 2021 in Portland, ME
Friday, July 9 - Sunday, July 11, 2021
Readercon 31 in Quincy, MA
Friday, July 9 - Sunday, July 11, 2021
Shore Leave in Hunt Valley, MD
Friday, July 9 - Sunday, July 11, 2021
ConGregate 2021 in Winston-Salem, NC
Thursday, July 15 - Sunday, July 18, 2021
ConnectiCon XVIII in Hartford, CT
Friday, July 23 - Sunday, July 25, 2021
Confluence in Pittsburgh, PA
Friday, August 6 - Sunday, August 8, 2021
Otakon in Washington, DC
Friday, August 6 - Sunday, August 8, 2021
FanExpo Boston in Boston, MA
Friday, August 20 - Sunday, August 22, 2021
Bubonicon in Albuquerque, NM
Wednesday, August 25 - Sunday, August 29, 2021
DisCon III the 79th World Science Fiction Convention, in Washington, DC, USA
Friday, September 17 - Sunday, September 19, 2021
FenCon XVII in Irving (DWF airport), TX.
Saturday, September 18 - Sunday, September 19, 2021
Granite State Comicon in Manchester, NH
Friday, October 1 - Sunday, October 3, 2021
Capclave
Thursday, November 4 - Sunday, November 7, 2021
World Fantasy Convention 2021 in Montréal, ON, Canada.
Friday, November 5 - Sunday, November 7, 2021
Rhode Island Comic Con in Providence, RI
Friday, December 3 - Sunday, December 5, 2021
SMOFCon Europe in Lisboa, Portugal
Thursday, February 24 - Sunday, February 27, 2022
Intercon U in Warwick, RI
Thursday, September 1 - Monday, September 5, 2022
Chicon 8 the 80th World Science Fiction Convention, in Chicago, Illinois.
Friday, December 2 - Sunday, December 4, 2022
Smofcon 38 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada