Menu Menu

Events

 

NESFA events are highlighted like this. Non-NESFA events at the clubhouse are highlighted like this. Extraordinary and exceptional events, dates, and reminders are highlighted like this.

Game and Video days at the Clubhouse have resumed. For now, NESFA and Boskone Business Meetings will remain via Zoom.

Please report any errors, and any relevant events which are not listed but are in or near New England or otherwise of interest to NESFA members, to calendar@nesfa.org.

In addition to the activities listed here, some NESFA members gather at the clubhouse almost every Wednesday evening to work, socialize, and play games (often Dominion). The building is almost always open between 6 pm and 10 pm on Wednesday evenings, and often later.  When the weather is inclement, please call 617-625-2311 to make sure that there are people at the clubhouse before showing up.

The dumpster will be emptied every two weeks on Mondays (except on Tuesday when Monday is a holiday).

Please leave a clear path to the dumpster, and plenty of clear space around it on pickup days.

Upcoming dumpster emptying dates are Jul 5, Jul 18, Aug 1.

The clubhouse will be cleaned by professional cleaners on the first Friday of every month until further notice.

Please schedule your activities so as not to interfere with their work.

In 2022, upcoming clubhouse cleaning dates are Jul 1, Aug 5, Sep 2, Oct 7, Nov 4 and Dec 2.

 


Filter By:

Friday, July 1, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Science Fiction by Sherryl Vint

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Saturday, July 2, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, July 6, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, July 9, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Sunday, July 10, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to Midnight
Game Day A day of games for anyone interested. Attendance will be limited. Proof of vaccination and masks will be required. Send email to gaming-coordinator@nesfa.org to request a seat. At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, July 13, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, July 16, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Tuesday, July 19, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Somerville Sci-Fi/Fantasy Reading Group Book: The Echo Wife by Sarah Gailey

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid if we return to the Clubhouse.

Wednesday, July 20, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, July 23, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Sunday, July 24, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to Midnight
Game Day A day of games for anyone interested. Attendance will be limited. Proof of vaccination and masks will be required. Send email to gaming-coordinator@nesfa.org to request a seat. At the clubhouse.
Wednesday, July 27, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Saturday, July 30, 2022 • 1:00pm to 8:00pm
Open library hours At the clubhouse.
Sunday, July 31, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at Noon (major topic: budget). The NESFA business meeting will follow, no earlier than 2PM.

These meetings will be held online.

Friday, August 5, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: An Absolutely Remarkable Thing by Hank Green

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Friday, August 12, 2022 • 3:00am
Hugo ballot deadline The Hugo ballot must be received by:

Friday, 12 August 2022, at 2:59am EDT (Thursday, 11 August 2022, at 11:59pm PDT (GMT-7))

Tuesday, August 16, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
The Somerville Sci-Fi/Fantasy Reading Group Book: War for the Oaks by Emma Bull

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid if we return to the Clubhouse.

Sunday, August 21, 2022 • 3:00pm to 7:00pm
NESFA Picnic at The Shelter (a covered area with 6 grills and 8 tables) at Larz Anderson Park in Brookline.

Note that neither dogs nor hibachis are allowed in this area.

All fans are welcome. NESFA will provide the basics: hamburgers, hot dogs, buns, condiments, and fire; bring something to share.

There is a link for directions to the park on the same webpage.

Thursday, September 1 - Monday, September 5, 2022
Chicon 8 the 80th World Science Fiction Convention, in Chicago, Illinois.
Friday, September 9, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Carter & Lovecraft by Jonathan L. Howard

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Sunday, September 11, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at Noon. The NESFA business meeting will follow, no earlier than 2PM.

These meetings will be held online.

Friday, September 16 - Monday, September 19, 2022
Albacon 2022 in Albany, NY
Friday, September 30, 2022 - Sunday, October 2, 2022
Capclave in Rockville, MD.
Friday, October 7, 2022 • 7:00pm to 10:00pm
NESFA Reading Group Book: Growing Up Weightless by John M. Ford

This meeting may be held online or may be a hybrid, if we head back to the Clubhouse.

Sunday, October 16, 2022 • 12:00 Noon to whenever
Boskone and NESFA Business Meetings The Boskone meeting will start at Noon. The NESFA business meeting will follow, no earlier than 2PM.

These meetings will be held online.

Friday, November 4 - Sunday, November 6, 2022
Astronomicon at RIT Inn and Conference Center, in Rochester, NY
Sunday, November 6, 2022 • 2:00am to 3:00am
end of daylight saving time 2 am EDT, end of daylight saving time; change clocks backward to 1 am EST.
Friday, November 18 - Sunday, November 20, 2022
Philcon 2022 in Philadelphia, PA
Friday, December 2 - Sunday, December 4, 2022
Smofcon 38 in Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Friday, January 13 - Monday, January 16, 2023
Arisia 2023
Friday, February 17 - Sunday, February 19, 2023
Boskone 60
Sunday, March 12, 2023 • 2:00am to 3:00am
beginning of daylight saving time 2 am EST, beginning of daylight saving time; set clocks forward to 3 am EDT.
Friday, April 21 - Monday, April 24, 2023
Costume-Con 39 in San Jose, CA
Friday, October 13 - Sunday, October 15, 2023
MCFI Relaxacon in Dennisport, MA at the Corsair and Cross Rip Hotels
Sunday, November 5, 2023 • 2:00am to 3:00am
end of daylight saving time 2 am EDT, end of daylight saving time; change clocks backward to 1 am EST.
Monday, April 8, 2024
solar eclipse Totality will be visible in parts of New England (northern Vermont, New Hampshire and Maine), weather permitting